Warren Ferguson Takes A-Main Victory at Valvoline Raceway

All Images compliments of Gary Reidgreid@pacific.net.au
Words – Paul Griffin

logoWarren Ferguson typified ultimate persistence on Dec 28 as he took out his first A-Main victory at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway in 17 years.

It’s Ferguson’s third A-Main victory at the venue, the other two coming more than 17 years ago !!

Ferguson won in style amongst the usual intense VR competition.

In the dying moments of the race Walsh was leading and looked like taking the win.

Ferguson had other ideas and with one lap to go, entering turn 1/2, he took Walsh and set sail for the flagstand, hugging the low line.

Walsh stayed up high but despite his frantic efforts to regain the lead, the pole line proved the quickest way home for Ferguson in his #32 Fruitwheels entry.


Sprintcar podium: (l-r) Sam Walsh (2nd), Warren Ferguson (1st), Troy Little (3rd)

Warren Ferguson celebrates

Warren Ferguson celebrates his popular A-Main victory

Warren Ferguson

Warren Ferguson won the A Main

It was an incredibly popular victory given it was over 17 years since his last feature win at VR – Well done Warren !!

An ecstatic Ferguson paid tribute to his dedicated crew including his 76 year old father and engine builder Adrian Maher.

Earlier in the evening Sam Walsh set Quick Time.

Top 10 finishers were:

1. Warren Ferguson
2. Sammy Walsh
3. Troy Little
4. Robbie Farr
5. Alex Orr
6. Ian Madsen
7. Daniel Sayre
8. Danny Reidy
9. Matt Dumesny
10. Marcus Dumesny

Grant Tunks

Grant Tunks gets some bite coming off turn 4 in time trials

Stacey Galliford

Stacey Galliford drives hard into turn 1

Max Dumesny (5)

Max Dumesny (5) with Jordyn Brazier in the background

Daniel Sayre

Daniel Sayre looks the part

Kiwi Martin Brundle

Kiwi Martin Brundle’s heat did not last long as he crashed going into turn 1

Grant Anderson

Grant Anderson’s A Main ended early as Matt Geering
(6) avoids the debris

The next Sprintcar event for Valvoline Raceway is Saturday December 30 for the
NSW Sprintcar Championship. A report will follow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.