Sam Walsh makes it Back to Back A-Mains at Valvoline Raceway

Words: Sprintcar Association of NSW
Images: Gary Reid

Sam Walsh took the win in the George Tatnell Challenge on Saturday night (10th Dec) at Valvoline Raceway. It was Sam’s second win in a row and his third win of the season.

In what was a hotly contested main event, Walsh led every lap but during the middle stages of the 30 lap final, Veal was certainly making his presence felt and closed dramatically on Walsh. In the end it wasn’t to be as Walsh went on to claim the win.

Further back through the pack there were some intense battles and some big movers. James McFadden and Brooke Tatnell had a great dual for a number of laps as Brooke marched through the field from his starting spot deep in the field.

At the fall of the chequered flag Walsh, Veal and Tatnell filled the podium. It was Tatnell’s 99th podium finish at Valvoline Raceway.

Sam Walsh wins

A Main podium: (l-r) Jamie Veal (2nd), Sammy Walsh (1st), Brooke Tatnell (3rd) and Tatnell family members

Sammy Walsh

Sam Walsh is showing some great form early in the season

Fourth was James McFadden followed by Max Dumesny, Robbie Farr, Warren Ferguson who came from position seventeen, Shaun Dobson, Toby Bellbowen and Ian Loudoun rounded out the top ten. Eleventh was James Thompson followed by Max Johnston, Mitchell Dumesny, Troy Little, Matt Dumesny, Ben Atkinson, Ian Madsen, Andrew Wright, Jackson Delamont, Grant Tunks, Daniel Harding and Chace Karpenko rounded out the field. Non finishers were Danny Reidy and Jeremy Cross.

Earlier in time trials Jamie Veal set quick time in qualifying flight one with an 11.785 second lap. Flight two quick time was Robbie Farr with a 12.140 second lap.

Non Qualifiers were won by Braydan Wilmington and Alex Orr.

Heat wins went to Veal, Walsh, Ian Loudoun and Troy Little.

The C-Main was won by Matt Smith. Danny Reidy and Ian Madsen won the two B-Mains.

James McFaddden

James McFaddden leads Shaun Dobson

Darryl Campbell

Darryl Campbell (28) chases Sammy Walsh (92)

Harli White

American visitor Harli White at full noise

Mitchell Dumesny

Mitchell Dumesny (77) leads James McFadden (17)

Lachlan McHugh

Lachlan McHugh leads Mick Saller (56) and Jay Waugh (99)

Max Johnston (38) leads Ian Madsen (obscured) and Ben Atkinson

Max Johnston (38) leads Ian Madsen (obscured) and Ben Atkinson

This has now rounded out the regular weekly competition until February. All attention now turns to the international portion of the season which holds many blue ribbon events for the Sprintcar Association of NSW. It all starts on Boxing Night with the 37th running of the Valvoline Australian Sprintcar Grand Prix. Only two Australian drivers, Garry Brazier and Ian Madsen, have won the event in the last fourteen years.

The Valvoline Raceway Schedule for the next month is as follows:
December 26 – Valvoline AGP
December 28 – Peter Murphy Appreciation Night
December 30 – 59th NSW Sprintcar Championship
January 1 – 50 Lap Firecracker
January 12 – Origin of Speed teams event
January 13, 14 – Scott Darley Challenge
January 26, 27, 28 – 2017 Australian Sprintcar Championship

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.