Jamie Veals Wins Round 2 of Triple Crown Series at Perth Motorplex

Words by Darren O’Dea
All Images : Peter Straight Shooter Roebuck

WORLD Series Sprintcars champion Jamie Veal continued his stellar season when he won the second round of the AHG Easy As 123 Triple Crown at the Perth Motorplex on Saturday night.

Jamie Veal

Jamie Veal: Unbelievable successes this season

The Victorian was hired to drive the WA-owned Monte Motorsport W17 for the event and he rewarded the team with a solid win from South Australian Luke Dillon and local ace Jamie Maiolo.


Veal set up the win in the 30-lap feature after he started from pole position on the back of being second overall in qualifying and fourth in his heat race.

He survived some advances in traffic at the business end of the race that proved to be one of attrition and brutal on some of the drivers chasing down a podium placing.

James Inglis was one of the first casualties, going over at the start of the race and being hit by Lee Redmond.

Mitchell Wormall was one of the first drivers to suffer from tyre failure when his left rear tyre expired on lap seven.

New WA champion Tim Van Ginneken was struggling in the W56 (W1) after he spun around early, and despite getting a restart from the rear, spun around again after having a damaged front right end.

Jason Kendrick was the big mover in the race, starting from P13 and had stormed his way up to second when the car let out a big puff of smoke and he quickly pulled up on the main straight with fire crews racing to the #11 machine.

Tim Van Gennekan

Victorian hotshoe and newly crowned WA State Champion Tim Van Gennekan

Jason Kendrick

Jason Kendrick ended up with a ball of fall under his WA11

Late in the race Daryl Clayden went over on the back straight but landed on his wheels on the infield.

With a huge number of rolling laps officials made the call to pause the race, allowing crews to top up fuel loads on the cars.

The track took its toll on left rear tyres late in the race on a handful of cars.

Dillon, driving the W53 Muir Motorsport entry, was very solid, after starting from P12 and claiming second.

Jamie Maiolo was also strong late to take third after starting from P9.

Jame Veal - Winner

A-Main Podium: L to R: 2nd Luke Dillon, Winner Jamie Veal, 3rd Jamie Maiolo

Cameron Gessner started and finished fourth while Jake Beard-Miller took fifth after started from P16.

Andrew Priolo claimed some credibility after starting from P23 and taking sixth, from Jason Pryde (from P15), Taylor Milling (from P20), Aldo De Paoli (from P17) and Scott Chatwin (from P22).

Jamie Veal

Jamie Veal took over the Monte Motorsport WA17 and won Round 2 of the Triple Crown Mini-Series

Jason Kendrick

Jason Kendrick in action

Happy Racer: Jamie Veal has risen to the top of Australian Sprintcar Racing and is soon to start an aggressive American Campaign

Jamie Veal

Jamie Veal with Crew Chief Kim "Buzzy" Buswell and Monte Motorsport/Milwaukee Tools Team Owner Luch Monte

Qualifying: Carl Dowling 13.150, Jamie Veal 13.292, Luke Dillon 13.412, David Priolo 14.435, Cameron Gessner 13.440, Jamie Maiolo 13.480, Jason Kendrick 13.484, Tim Van Ginneken 13.515, Bradley Maiolo 13.551, Lee Nash 13.565, Trent Pigdon 13.569, Daryl Clayden 13.606, Kye Scroop 13.659, Jake Beard-Miller 13.710, Ben Ellement 13.723, Mitchell Wormall 13.762, Andrew Priolo 13.762, Andrew Priolo 13.766, Jason Pryde 13.806, Taylor Milling 13.809, Aldo De Paoli 13.850, Scott Chatwin 14.011, Lee Redmond 14.032, James Inglis 14.094

Heat 1: 1st Trent Pigdon, 2nd Bradley Maiolo, 3rd Cameron Gessner, 4th Jason Kendrick, 5th Carl Dowling, 6th Kye Scroop, 7th Luke Dillon, 8th Ben Ellement, 9th Taylor Milling, 10th Andrew Priolo, DNF: James Inglis and Scott Chatwin.

Heat 2: 1st Tim Van Ginneken, 2nd Lee Nash, 3rd David Priolo, 4th Jamie Veal, 5th Daryl Clayden, 6th Jason Pryde, 7th Mitchell Wormall, 8th Jamie Maiolo, 9th Lee Redmond. DNF: Jake Beard-Miller, Aldo De Paoli.

Midpack 1: 1st Jamie Maiolo, 2nd Jason Kendrick, 3rd Kye Scroop, 4th Jason Pryde, 5th Aldo De Paoli, 6th James Inglis, 7th Lee Redmond. DNF: Andrew Priolo.

Midpack 2: 1st Daryl Clayden,2nd Luke Dillon, 3rd Ben Ellement, 4th Jake Beard-Miller, 5th Mitchell Wormall. DNF: Taylor Milling and Scott Chatwin.

Feature: 1st Jamie Veal, 2nd Luke Dillon, 3rd Jamie Maiolo, 4th Cameron Gessner, 5th Jake Beard-Miller, 6th Andrew Priolo, 7th Jason Pryde, 8th Taylor Milling, 9th Aldo De Paoli, 10th Scott Chatwin. DNF: Lee Nash, Bradley Maiolo, Jason Kendrick, Trent Pigdon, Daryl Clayden, Carl Dowling, Tim Van Ginneken, Lee Redmond, Mitchell Wormall, Ben Ellement, David Priolo, James Inglis and Kye Scroop.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.