Steven Lines Wins 2016 Krikke Boys Shootout

All Images by Peter “Straight Shooter” Roebuck
Words by Andrew Roberts

Mt Gambier sprintcar ace, Steven Lines, took the 19th annual Krikke Boys Shootout in emphatic fashion at Quit Bunbury Speedway on Sunday night.

The South Australian had an almost perfect record after winning the Keenquip Southern Thunder Series Grand Final on Saturday night and backed it up on Sunday, although be it on controversial circumstances towards the end of the feature race.

Steven Lines celebrates his emphatic KBS victory with Hall's Motorsport Team Owner "Brian Hall"

Coming into night two, Lines was 4th on points, behind Dave Murcott, Luke Dillon and Lee Nash. He held sway in his only heat for the night by keeping position and thus pushing him up the ladder on the points standings for the top ten shootout later in the evening.

In his dash, he got the better of the Q83 of Dave Murcott, with the latter conceding after one lap. He dash challenge with Luke Dillon didn’t result in a pole position, but an all South Australian front row start – Dillon and Lines.

The A Main was full of names that would make the race fans salivate at what was on offer and it did not disappoint. On the green, Ben Ellement, starting out of position eleven, rubbed wheels with another car and found himself parked on the straight and not being able to re-start.

Take two, and it was Dillon who sped away and was looking the goods until a stoppage saw him have to lead the pack away only to be under fire from Lines and Brooke Tatnell. After another stoppage, Dillon surrendered the lead to Lines with Tatnell gaining a spot as well.

With nine laps remaining, a heavy crash involving youngster, Mitchell Wormall, saw the red lights come on and crews were dispatched to work on the cars. With cars opting for tyre changes, which was allowed by officials, this placed the re-start order into chaos, as Lines, Jason Kendrick and Daniel Harding had all opted not to change tyres and stay on the same rubber.

After three laps of circulating, Harding and Kendrick pressed their case to re-start at the front end of the field, due to other cars replacing tyres at the stoppage. Without further ensuing controversy, all cars were brought to a stop and positions were aligned with the tyre change rule, placing the leaders back through the field.

Steven Lines was never headed on the get go and Daniel Harding and Jason Kendrick followed suit to record first time Shootout podium finishes.

The Sprintcar race that stops the State of WA was done, run, and won by the driver who had deserved it most of all, with some rising stars in the making perhaps showing they are more than capable of matching it with the best.

Steven Lines

Steven Lines won the 2016 KBS

Jamie Maiolo

Jamie Maiolo won the Southern Thunder Series - The Krikke Boys Shootout was the last race in the competive WA Series

Southern Thunder Sprintcar Series Winners: L to R Jason Kendrick 2nd, Jamie Maiolo 1st and Lee Nash 3rd

Lots of tyres were used on the night

Luke Dillon in the Diamond Bay #26 was polesitter

John Krikke (L) and brother Ron

Cameron Gessner

Cameron Gessner was in the action

4 - Wide salute for KBS 2016

The Krikke brothers greet the finalists as the roll past in the 4 - Wide every year

Daniel Harding

Daniel Harding broke through for another Podium

Shaun Bradford

Shaun Bradford gets into a spot of bother

Calm before the storm

Steven Lines

Happy Camper: Steven Lines and Team are $20,000 richer after his great win in the KBS 2016

Steven Lines

Steven Lines: Got the Goldware !

And so ends the 2016 Krikke Boys Shootout !!


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.