Kyle Hirst wins WSS Round 11 – Bunbury Quit Speedway

All Images – Peter “Straight Shooter” Roebuck
Words by Darren “The Digger” O’Dea

CALIFORNIAN Kyle Hirst is hot property at the moment after winning round 12 of the AHG Sprintcar Series/round 11 of Enzed World Series Sprintcars at Quit Bunbury Speedway on Saturday night.

Hirst won Saturday night’s showdown from Victorian Jamie Veal and former Sydney resident (now American-based Brooke Tatnell) in front of a healthy crowd at the South West venue.

This was on the back of him claiming his maiden WSS feature win at the Perth Motorplex Speedway the previous weekend.

On Saturday night Hirst was kept busy as team owner Luch Monte also nominated him in the 360 Sprintcar class where he also went on to win that feature race and claim the double for the night.

Hirst was in good from the get-go, being the fourth quickest in qualifying at the start of the night behind Veal and local brothers Brad and Jamie Maiolo.

He was fourth in his first heat and pushed hard to work through to take second in his second round of heats.

In the Gold Dash he was too good for Jamie Maiolo, Veal and James McFadden to claim pole position.

In the main event Hirst put on a clinic, setting up an early lead and then being methodical in lapped traffic.

The field bunched up late in the event when McFadden put the NQ25 into the fence in pits bend, but on the green Hirst again had all the answers and set sail for home.

Veal, who started from P3, looked solid all race but was not able to make enough ground up on Hirst and had to settle for second.

Tatnell was one of the big chargers in the 30-lapper, starting from P11 and working his way through to take the final step on the podium.

Ryan Farrell looks like he is starting to gel in the W90 and after a good run in Albany the previous night he finished fourth after starting from the fourth row.

This was on top of him taking his first heat race win in that car this season.

Steven Lines was fifth after coming from the third row on the grid and while it wasn’t the result he was looking for, it was another solid points haul for the WSS championship.

Luke Dillon had to dig deep in the W26, coming out of the B Main that he won and started from P15 in the A Main.

He worked hard to claim sixth in what was a very workmanlike effort.

Jason Kendrick started from P9 and lost some serious ground early on in the feature but was very racy in the second half of the event to round up cars on the highline and take seventh.

Former Australian champion Dave Murcott finished eighth after starting from P13 and was followed over the line by Ian Madsen who started from the same row.

Ryan Jones was 10th while Jamie Maiolo finished 11th and struggled after initially qualifying on the front row for the finale.

The finishing order was rounded out by David Priolo, Callum Williamson, Brad Maiolo, Shaun Bradford, Taylor Milling, Jason Pryde and Mitchell Wormall.

The only non-finishers were McFadden and Daryl Clayden (who didn’t even complete a lap).

Dillon won the B Main from Bradford, Pryde, Williamson, Milling and Wormall with Kye Scroop, Scott Chatwin, Daniel Harding and Lee Nash not making the transfer.

Harding had a crash in pits bend while Nash rode a wheel in the first turns.

The WSS action continues with two nights of Grand Finale action at the Perth Motorplex, Kwinana Beach, WA next Friday and Saturday night.

Going into the final double header the top 3 on points are:

  1. Brooke Tatnell 3220
  2. Jamie Veal 3190
  3. Steven Lines 3066


Kyle Hirst won the 360 Feature as well !


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.