Shaun Bradford Wins Magic Man 34 at Perth Motorplex

Words: Darren “The Digger” O’Dea
All Images compliments Peter “Straight Shooter” Roebuck

SHAUN Bradford has claimed back-to-back victories in the Magic Man sprintcar race, winning the 2015 instalment at the Perth Motorplex Speedway on Saturday night from Bradley Maiolo and Ben Ellement.

Bradford started from P3 for the tribute race to the late Michael Figliomeni and alongside another former winner of the event in David Priolo.

Brothers Jamie and Brad Maiolo started from the front row in the event that was round two of the 2015-16 AHG Sprintcar Series.

Unfortunately for Jamie he dropped back a couple of spots early on and ultimately was a DNF after crashing out on lap nine.

The first major incident occurred when Luke Dillon, in his first drive for his former Diamond Bay Motorsport W26, spun in pits bend, forcing Carl Dowling, Kye Scroop and Jason Kendrick to be involved, with Kendrick then also being tagged by Jason Pryde.

Jake Beard-Miller, who started from P5 and was looking strong on the back of his podium finish in the first round of the AHG Sprintcar Series at the same venue three weeks earlier, was out after spinning on lap five after the car was damaged following contact with another only moments earlier.

He was hit by Callum Williamson and Taylor Milling with the latter tipping over.

It is understood Beard-Miller has suffered a couple of broken ribs from the incident.

The bad start to the series continued for Ryan Farrell who claimed another DNF after the W90 pulled up in pits bend and was then collected by Jamie Maiolo and David Priolo, putting all three out of the contest.

The win continued the strong run to the season for Bradford who was sixth in the season opener and then only last week won the Bonza Bradford Memorial in Pithara, a tribute race for his late father Ian who passed away 23 years ago on Saturday.

Brad Maiolo was only 2.216 seconds off the pace and this is on the back of his seventh in the first race of the season.

It was Ben Ellement’s second third placing in as many weeks and he continues to impress in his return to the sport after a two-year break.

Ken Sartori started from P9 and charged forward for fourth while team mates Daryl Clayden (from P6) and Lee Nash (from P16) were next over the line.

Ryan Lancaster started 15th and finished seventh and one of the interesting results on the night was the eighth placing to rookie James Inglis who started from P20 in his first race in the AHG Sprintcar Series.

Robert Watson junior and Jason Pryde rounded out the top 10.

The first of the four qualifying groups at the start of the night proved to be the one to be in with Priolo topping the charts with a 14.024-second lap, ahead of Dillon’s 14.103 and Lancaster’s 14.200.

Brad Maiolo won the first heat of the night (from brother Jamie), with David Priolo, Kye Scroop and Beard-Miller were the other heat winners.

Round three of the AHG Sprintcar Series will be held at Quit Bunbury Speedway next Saturday night.


Group 1: David Priolo 14.024, Luke Dillon 14.103, Ryan Lancaster 14.200, Ken Sartori 14.623, Taylor Milling 14.742 Aldo De Paoli 15.094

Group 2: Bradley Maiolo 14.218, Ben Ellement 14.257, Jason Kendrick 14.271, Jason Pryde 14.773, Andrew Priolo 14.865, Scott Reilly 14.987, Scott Chatwin 15.245

Group 3: Jamie Maiolo 14.339, Daryl Clayden 14.452, Robert Watson junior 14.469, Callum Williamson 14.471, Kye Scroop 14.448, Troy Lawson 14.584. Group 4: Ryan Farrell 14.306, Shaun Bradford 14.307, Jake Beard-Miller 14.319, Carl Dowling 14.446, Lee Nash 14.646, Mitchell Wormall 15.334

Heat 1: 1st Bradley Maiolo, 2nd Jamie Maiolo, 3rd Shaun Bradford, 4th Luke Dillon, 5th Jason Kendrick, 6th Carl Dowling, 7th Ken Sartori, 8th Kye Scroop, 9th Andrew Priolo, 10th Robert Watson junior, 11th Aldo De Paoli, 12th Scott Chatwin, 13th Mitchell Wormall.

Heat 2: 1st David Priolo, 2nd Daryl Clayden, 3rd Ryan Farrell, 4th Ryan Lancaster, 5th Jake Beard-Miller, 6th Ben Ellement, 7th Callum Williamson, 8th Lee Nash, 9th James Inglis, 10th Taylor Milling, 11th Troy Lawson, 12th Jason Pryde, 13th Scott Reilly.

Heat 3: 1st Kye Scroop, 2nd Shaun Bradford, 3rd Jamie Maiolo, 4th Carl Dowling, 5th Ben Ellement, 6th Taylor Milling, 7th David Priolo, 8th Robert Watson junior, 9th Ryan Lancaster, 10th James Inglis, 11th Mitchell Wormall, 12th Jason Pryde, 13th Scott Reilly.

Heat 4: 1st Jake Beard-Miller, 2nd Ken Sartori, 3rd Callum Williamson, 4th Lee Nash, 5th Bradley Maiolo, 6th Daryl Clayden, 7th Jason Kendrick, 8th Luke Dillon, 9th Ryan Farrell, 10th Andrew Priolo, 11th Aldo De Paoli, 12th Troy Lawson. DNF: Scott Chatwin.

Feature: 1st Shaun Bradford, 2nd Brad Maiolo, 3rd Ben Ellement, 4th Ken Sartori, 5th Daryl Clayden, 6th Lee Nash, 7th Ryan Lancaster, 8th James Inglis, 9th Robert Watson, 10th Jason Pryde, 11th Andrew Priolo, 12th Troy Lawson, 13th Mitchell Wormall. DNF: Kye Scroop, Jamie Maiolo, David Priolo, Ryan Farrell, Aldo De Paoli, Taylor Milling, Callum Williamson, Jake Beard-Miller, Carl Dowling, Luke Dillon, Jason Kendrick. DNS: Scott Reilly, Scott Chatwin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.