Jamie Veal Wins Gold Cup Season Finale at Perth Motorplex While Jason Kendrick Bags Triple Crown Mini-Series

All images by Peter “Straight Shooter” Roebuck
Words by Darren O’Dea

Gold Cup winner Jamie Veal

He looks like the wild man from Borneo, unshaven and one could say a bit of a scruff HOWEVER, Victorian Jamie Veal was the real deal behind the wheel of the Shane & Jodie Krikke’s WSS winning Sprintcar #2 on Saturday night.

The quietly spoken Warrnambool speed ace swept all before him to win a brilliant Gold Cup race last Saturday night (18th April) at the Perth Motorplex. Following Veal across the line was Jamie Maiolo and Jason Kendrick.

Former National champion Ron Krikke was on hand as the special guest to present the awards to the drivers with his former team mate and Motorplex Speedway Manger Gavin Migro.

While Veal won the night, but podium finishes in all three rounds of the AHG Triple Crown was enough for Jason Kendrick to win the mini-series that wrapped up the 2014-15 Sprintcar season in Western Australia.

Gold Cup Podium: L to R - Jamie Maiolo 2nd, Jamie Veal 1st, Jason Kendrick 3rd. Kendrick was also the Triple Crown 3 race mini-series winner. Legend Ron Krikke (far right) presented the trophies

Heading in the final round Kendrick was second on points to Ryan Farrell after finishing second to Farrell in both the previous rounds.

This round carried double points that meant there was plenty on the line.

Farrell had the upper hand, starting from P5 for the final with Kendrick from P8.

Unfortunately for Farrell he was out of the contest on lap 14 after contact with Dowling in pits bend saw him spin out and then get collected by another three cars that had nowhere to go.

Ryan Farrell got caught up in this freight train wreck

This put the spotlight onto Kendrick but he had to still finish strongly and hold off a points challenge from Dowling who has been very impressive in the last couple of shows.

Dowling crossed the line in 6th and that was enough to wrap up second in the mini-series.

The aim of the Triple Crown was to spice up the action a bit at the end of the season particularly with the Blue Ribbon regular AHG Sprintcar Series done and dusted.

This included a different qualifying format and the return of the Top 8 Knockout series that proved to be a big hit with the fans.

Kendrick won the Triple Crown prize purse with 580 points to Dowling’s 558 and Jamie Maioilo and Callum Williamson on 546 each.

Maiolo claimed third on a countback.

Jamie Veal with his Season Finale Gold Cup trophy

The Wormall Motorsports outfit is a ripper

Gold Cup Winner Jamie Veal in full flight

Daryl Clayden punches the Wormall #45 through pits bend

Mitchell Wormall made an apperance in the #35 entry

Kye Scroop leads Carl Dowling

Jamie Veal

Daryl Clayden on the gas leads Terry Cutts

David Priolo in action

Carl Dowling had a strong end to the season

Happy Camper: Carl Dowling

Ken Sartori #50 does battle with team mate Rob Watson Jnr #66

Jamie Maiolo #99 came 2nd in the Gold Cup

Ken Sartori

Ryan Farrell in the rear has had better luck - here Ken Sartori leads Farrell

Voiceman Matt Naulty (LHS) enjoys a lighter moment with legend Ron Krikke

Terry Cutts #9 leads Taylor Milling #25

AHG Triple Crown mini-series winner Jason Kendrick hikes the left front

Jason Kendrick leads Ryan Farrell

Shaun Bradford #57 had a bit of a moment that caught up Mitchell Wormall

Lee Nash cuts down a left rear tyre

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.