James McFadden Wins Final Sydney Sprintcar Race – James Thompson Takes Out Valvoline Raceway Track Championship

All Images by Gary Reid greid@pacific.net.au
Words by Valvoline Raceway Media

It was a history making night at Valvoline Raceway (Sat Mar 28) as James Thompson went on to score victory in the track championship over Ben Atkinson and Max Dumesny placed third in the points. Max benefited from Sam Walsh’s non finish in the A-Main relegating Sam back to fourth.

In the A-Main, it was James McFadden who went on to score the victory over a fast finishing Toby Bellbowen and Robbie Farr placed third.

James McFadden celebrates his victory

It was McFadden’s second victory at the circuit as he used his front row starting spot to full advantage. Robbie Farr took the lead for a number of laps before McFadden got past him again and set off to build a handy lead in lapped traffic.

All eyes were on the combatants in the track championship however as both were starting deep in the field and the ask on Atkinson became too great, allowing James Thompson to win his first ever Sprintcar Track Championship.

Australian Sprintcar Champion Dave Murcott also did enough to claim the bonus in the Month of Money series.

It has been a big season for interstate drivers, dominating the Sydney season.

There was only one stoppage in the exciting 30 lap A-Main, when Jeremy Cross got upside down. He was OK.

Following the top three of McFadden, Bellbowen and Farr home was Murcott, Ian Loudoun, Danny Reidy, Atkinson, Grant Tunks, Adrian Maher and James Thompson rounding out the top ten.

Queenslander Andrew Scheuerle did a great job to finish eleventh followed by outgoing Track Champion Max Dumesny, Andrew Wright, the stand out of the night Matt Craft, another standout in Jay Waugh, Steve Rowell and Jeff Lawler had his best night of the season to record a seventeenth place finish.

Non-finishers were Brent Aprile, Mark Attard, Max Johnston, Jeremy Cross, Craig Brady, Sam Walsh and Matt Dumesny.

Earlier in the night, it was Danny Reidy who set quick time with a 12.593 second lap ahead of Gary Rooke, Alex Orr, Matt Craft and McFadden.

Heat race wins went to Jeremy Cross, Grant Tunks, Toby Bellbowen and Brent Aprile.

The C-Main was a marathon affair with Dean Thomas taking the win and the B-Main was won by Danny Reidy.

Chaos in the C Main as Danny Vassall (97) goes over in the foreground and Blake Skipper (24) cartwheels towards the fence in the background, surrounded by Mick Sauer (69), Tommy Britton (19) and Brandon Rawlings (44)

All up, 131 drivers competed in one or more rounds of the track championship.

A-Main victories this season: Brad Sweet (3), Jamie Veal (3), Ian Madsen (2), James McFadden (2), Sam Walsh (2), Ben Atkinson (2) and David Murcott, Max Dumesny, Kerry Madsen, Trevor Green, Danny Reidy and Jackson Delamont with one win each.

Sprintcar Track Championship top ten:

1. James Thompson – 4772
2. Ben Atkinson – 4751
3. Max Dumesny – 4636
4. Sam Walsh – 4632
5. Toby Bellbowen – 4577
6. Jackson Delamont – 4565
7. Danny Reidy – 4526
8. Grant Tunks – 4346
9. Trevor Green – 4252
10. Matthew Dumesny – 4241

James Thompson (22) and Ben Atkinson (2) battled for the track championship during the night and it was Thompson who was able to keep his points lead

Andrew Wright drives out of the heavy stuff

Blake Skipper charges through turn 3 in time trials

James McFadden takes the low line under Matt Craft in heat race action

Jeremy Cross caused the only stoppage in the A Main

James Thompson and his team celebrate winning the Sprintcar Track Championship

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.