Jackson Delamont Cracks First Win at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway

Where Angels Fear to Tread !

Photos by Gary Reid – greid@pacific.net.au (Thanks mate – Ripper images !!!)
Words by Valvoline Raceway PR

Jackson Delamont has been showing all season that he’s not a driver you should underestimate and last Saturday night (Mar 21) he stepped it up a notch to score his career first main event win at Valvoline Raceway in front of an enormous crowd.

The 20 year old from Young in NSW stole the 30 lap victory from South Aussie Trevor Green in the dying stages of the race utilizing the lowline to maximum effect in his Mad Harry’s Steel #48 Maxim.

“It’s great to finally get a win for this team and reward them by putting this car up where it should be,” grinned the affable third generation racer, “it’s cool to win in front of such a huge crowd too.”

The biggest crowd in recent years at Valvoline Raceway jammed into see the Sprintcars and Monster Trucks combination.

“It’s so great to race in front of a crowd like this,” said eventual second placed Trevor Green, “full credit to Jackson for winning the race. He’s been threatening to do this for a while now and he’s finally got the win.”

Third place across the line was Sammy Walsh who carved his way from well back in the field to pick off
the final podium position.

A Main podium: (l-r) Sammy Walsh (3rd), Jackson Delamont (1st), Grand Marshall Jim Winterbottom, Trevor Green (2nd)

Australian Champion David Murcott had his chances to score the win in the #1 Maxim and even led a few times before eventually having to settle for fourth place ahead of last week’s feature winner James McFadden in fifth.

Current Track Championship points leader James Thompson came home in sixth ahead of Robbie Farr seventh, Max Dumesny eighth, Ben Atkinson ninth and Max Johnston rounding out the ten.

Following the top ten were Grant Anderson, Grant Tunks, Jeremy Cross, Kim Becker, Matthew Craft, Matt Dumesny, Thomas Jeffrey, Adrian Maher, Craig Brady, Andrew Wright and Lachlan Abbott placed as 21st and the final finisher.

DNF’s went to Toby Bellbowen (flat left front tyre) Warren Ferguson and Danny Reidy (flat left rear tyre whilst battling for the lead with contact between he and Toby Bellbowen in turn three early in the race).

The B-Main was won by Jeremy Cross from fellow A-Main transferees Grant Tunks in second, Lachlan Abbott third and Kim Becker in fourth.

The C-Main was won by Steve Caunt with an impressive drive over Blake Skipper in second, Daniel Sayre in third and Jason Gebert fourth.

Quick time in the Network Industry qualifying went to Toby Bellbowen for the fifth time (and third consecutively) and he later led the main event for several laps before he suffered a flat left front tyre which eventually crippled the #70 car and he retired to the pits.

Max Johnston in time trials puts on a show for the crowd

Toby Bellbowen set quick time in front of a large crowd

Jackson Delamont won the A Main in fine style

Brian Czuczi (92) and Clayton Hart (67) battle in their heat race

Steve Caunt (9) and Danny Vassall (97) in the C Main

Warren Ferguson (32), Thomas Jeffrey (12) and Grant Tunks (54) in A Main action

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.