James McFadden Scores Great Win At Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway

Images by Gary Reid – greid@pacific.net.au
Words by Valvoline Raceway PR

James McFadden put paid to the adage that he doesn’t win at Valvoline Raceway by scoring a brilliant victory Saturday Night (14 March) ahead of Australian Champion Dave Murcott and Sydney regular Ben Atkinson third.

The race between McFadden and Murcott will go down in the history of Valvoline Raceway as one of the most intense ever witnessed.

“It’s great to race against guys like Dave (Murcott) and Ben (Atkinson), knowing they will give you a lot of room, but still race you hard,” the former two-time Australian Champion said at the presentation, as he received his trophy from Bob Tunks, who was being honoured in the March Legend’s series.

“Running at this place with no wall, it is just fun, especially when the track is the way it was tonight.”

He had to work hard for the win though. Murcott inherited the lead after Toby Bellbowen suffered a flat right rear and had to give up his lead after receiving the mechanical defect flag. Murcott led right up until the 28th lap before McFadden, who worked his way up to second on lap 16, made his move on the Aussie Champ and steal a win, a first for him, at Valvoline Raceway.

Third placed Atkinson gained another four points on track championship leader James Thompson by virtue of his third place and Thompson finishing fifth, behind fourth placed Danny Reidy.

A Main podium: (l-r) Ben Atkinson (3rd), James McFadden (1st), Bob Tunks, David Murcott (2nd)

Just finishing outside the top five was Jackson Delmont who started from position 20. Seventh was Robbie Farr followed by Max Dumesny who once again had to perform an engine change prior to time trials, Max Johnston and Adrian Maher rounded out the top ten.

Eleventh home was Northern Territorian Jason Gebert followed by Michael Saller, Kelly Linigen, Daniel Sayre, Sean Dyson, Jeremy Cross with Toby Bellbowen classified as the last finisher.

Non-finishers were Andrew Wright, Craig Brady, Bruce White, Sam Walsh, Grant Anderson, Alex Orr and Jimmy Matchett.

Earlier in the night, it was Toby Bellbowen who set quick time in time trials followed by Atkinson and Reidy.

Heat race wins went to Michael Saller, Dave Murcott, Andrew Wright and Jason Gebert.

Atkinson won the Pole Shuffle with Mark Attard winning the C-Main and Max Johnston taking the B-Main win.

James Thompson leads the track championship with 2 rounds remaining

James McFadden won his first A Main at Valvoline Raceway

Former sprintcar star Bob Tunks is interviewed after a 2-seater ride driven by son Grant

Steve Rowell finds some grip in his heat race to get out of trouble

Jimmy Matchett (88), Trevor Green (11), and Sam Walsh (92) in heat race action

Bob Tunks, Grand Marshall for the night, gives the crossed flags for the 4-wide salute

Danny Reidy (5) leads David Murcott (1A) in the A Main

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.