Australian Sprintcar Title Results 2015 – Dave Murcott Successfully Defends his Title

Dave Murcott drove a superb race to secure his 2nd Australian Sprintcar Title at Bunbury’s Quit Speedway last Sat 14th Feb. It was a dominating performance that has seen the Victorian racer win two National Titles in succession.

Murcott was pretty much in a league of his own and in the lead up to the Big Race also took out the preliminary night honours.

Dave Murcott signals two in a row for the camera

The 53rd Running of the SJ Crushing Australian Title saw Murcott start from pole alongside local Myalup Driver Brad Maiolo in very very cool conditions. It was an incredible effort from young Maiolo in the face of a stack of heavy hitters and interstate invaders.

The top 8 starting grid was:

  1. Dave Murcott
  2. Brad Maiolo
  3. Ryan Farrell
  4. Ian Madsen
  5. Robbie Farr
  6. Steven Lines
  7. Danny Reidy
  8. Jamie Veal

Darren Jensen and Daniel Pestka were the two reserves for the 40 lap A-Main and were delighted to get a start as Ian Loudoun and Callum Williamson tangled in turn 1 on the first lap and eliminated themselves from further competition.

Ian Loudoun in the Kenerick Racing #29 goes over in spectacular fashion before one lap is entered in the book

A second attempt to get the Championship underway was successful while Robbie Farr retired to the in field with mechanical dramas after just 6 laps.

Murcott was quick to shoot to the lead and Steven Lines in the W3 signalled he was serious moving into P3 from P6 after just 7 laps. Stalwart Trevor Green was another in field casualty and exited the #11 Natrad entry after 9 laps.

Farrell was looking threatening having displaced Brad Maiolo and set his sights on Murcott. The current Australian Champion just seemed to have Farrell’s measure when it counted, in fact as the lapped slowly ticked away Lines was determined to work to the front and mounted several challenges on Farrell’s P2.

With 13 laps down a pronounced cushion had developed into turns 3 and 4. Drivers were have difficulty with this and those that made better headway were steering away from the intimidating step.

Farrell continued to apply pressure on Murcott and was eating into the leader’s margin. pegging Murcott back slowly. Not to be outdone, Lines was going with Farrell and stayed in touch. At half race distance local driver Carl Dowling spun on turns 3/4 and brought on the yellows.

Underway again and not to be outdone Jamie Maiolo had come from deep in the pack to be P6 and former Australian Champion James McFadden had moved up 10 spots into P9.

Ian Madsen arrived on the scene within a lap of the Dowling restart and went wide on Farrell to take 2nd spot. The next time around Madsen snuck the nose of the #10 entry in front of Murcott, but Murcott was up to the challenge and took back what he had momentarily lost.

This signalled the start of a titanic battle between Murcott and Madsen, each Driver refusing to give in. Madsen was able to shoot to the lead but this was again short lived as with 14 to go Murcott snatched the lead back – all this while Steven Lines rounded up Ryan Farrell for 3rd. After Farrell was the fast finishing Jamie Veal, Cameron Gessner and James McFadden in 7th.

Then with 13 laps to go disaster struck as Shaun Bradford was attempting to limp off the track, Ian Madsen had nowhere to go and clipped the back of his car despite an almighty attempt at evasive action. Madsen spun around on turn 4 and stuck the boot into his rig to keep it going.

He was facing oncoming traffic as the #10 lifted into a massive static wheelie. The attempt to keep fire in the engine was a ripper but the big 410 succumbed and stalled out – what a bummer – Madsen was sent to the rear as a result !

On the restart Tatnell was slowly moving forward but still way off the lead group. Veal and Farrell engaged in a personal battle for 3rd with the two swapping places and Veal finally clearing out.

With 8 laps to go the placings were Murcott, Lines, Veal, Farrell, McFadden, Gessner, Tatnell and Daniel Pestka who had snuck under the radar from a rear start. Jamie Maiolo brought on the yellows with a spin at the exit of turn 2.

Gessner’s LH rear blew on the back straight with a couple of laps to go and he pulled in field.

Cameron Gessner blew a left rear tyre on the back straight in the dying stages of the 2015 Title

Local hero Jamie Maiolo over-cooks the W99 at Bunbury

Murcott kept his head down and despite extreme pressure from Steven Lines he crossed the line to the roar and cheers from the capacity crowd to take his 2nd Australian Title in a row.


Final placings:

  1. Dave Murcott
  2. Steven Lines
  3. Jamie Veal
  4. James McFadden

Dave Murcott parades the Aussie Flag on the final night - there was no need to change the A1 sticker on the car as he took the championship for another year

Veteran Max Dumesny started the A-Main out of P20 - just too far back to make any in-roads

Shaun Dobson the Bunbury surface

Long way from home - Queenslander Brent Aprile

Cameron Gessner was a fancied local

Ben Atkinson drove the Ex Sheldon Haudenschild Keens Motorsport #90 car

Trevor Green thumps his rig around the Bunbury clayway

Cameron Gessner in the W41 Cowara Motorsport entry

Luke Dillion in more trouble while Jason Kemdrick (92) does a wheelie to high tail it out of trouble

Daniel Keen went over earlier in the program

Dave Murcott - All Style

Trevor Green (11) and Brooke Tatnell (2) do battle

Callum Williamson did well to qualify withn the A-Main top 10

Jason Kendrick in action

Dave Mucott mashes the gas pedal and just lifts the front left

In field line-up before the A-Main

4-Wide salute

Safety Crews and Fire Marshalls are key to a successful meeting - Thanks for your support Guys !!!!!!

David Priolo (W8) races hard while his front wing has collapsed

Luke Dillion gets in a spin

Truckload of Trophys - Newly Crowned Aussie Champ Dave Murcott

2015 Australian Title Podium: L to R Steve Lines 2nd, Dave Murcott winner, Jamie Veal 3rd

Happy Man - Dave Murcott

New Australian Champ Dave Murcott celebrates his great vistory with a wing dance and Aussie Flag

Dave Murcott proved his worth in taking out A1 two years in a row

All Images compliments of Peter “Straight Shooter” Roebuck
Words by Paul Griffin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.