Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic 2015

The 43rd Lucas Oil Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic was run over the Australia Day long weekend and produced yet another sensational Champion – Californian Kyle Hirst in the #17 Milwaukee Tools/Monte Motorsport entry drove a superbly calculated race and took both victory and the $30,000 winner’s cheque.

Following Hirst across the line was a fast finishing Brooke Tatnell and Albury’s Grant Anderson.

Kyle Hirst and the Victorious Milwaukee Tools/Monte Motorsport Team - image by Corey Gibson Photography (

The Smooth Style of Kyle Hirst - image by Corey Gibson (

The Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic truly is the best Sprintcar race in the country. The weekend’s racing program promised and delivered so much. Run over three nights (Fri, Sat and Sun) the event also included a spectacular Fan Appreciation day on Saturday morning at the local Flying Horse Bistro and Brewery. Here Team’s displayed their cars, sold merchandise and had a good old chat with the spectators.

This year “The Classic” had it all – top looking cars, great racing, Driver theatrics and the influence of Mother Nature on the final night. There were some pretty significant challenges thrown at Premier Speedway Sungold Stadium Officials on the Champion night with a period of heavy rain occurring midway through the first B-Main that threatened to defer the racing to the following contingency night (Monday 26th Jan).

It was a credit to Premier Speedway Manager David Mills that he and his hard working Team were able to “get the track back”. Most in the crowd thought there was little hope of a resumption as the Sungold Clayway had taken the water, ponded in patches on the pole line and basically transformed itself into an unraceable surface. Needless to say, David Mills’ Team armed with expert knowledge manicured the surface with their suite of specialised prep equipment and to our amazement we got going again and crowned Kyle Hirst as the new GASC Champion.

Supporting David Mills was Chief Steward Gary Pendlebury and his loyal team of officials. Like all race meetings there were numerous challenges to overcome in terms proper rule enforcement, however the rain delay and wants of some Teams elevated the challenges to a whole new level. But in true unwavering adjudication, the Stewards delivered a sensible outcome that saw the 43rd Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic delivered as promised. Well done to all !

This year 107 Teams competed at the Blue Ribbon event – commonly referred to as Australia’s Knoxville Nationals. When you sit back and look at it, these Teams need a great Driver, a great car, a sweet set up and a bit of luck just to get through the vast amount of laps they complete to secure the privilege of being one of the twenty-four final starters for 40 lap “Classic”…… let alone winning the Race !

The Lucas Oils Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic lived up to its name – it was A CLASSIC !

Kyle Hirst - A Great Drive to take out The 43rd Classic - image by Paul Griffin

To do the event the justice it deserves, Torque Tube will report on the GASC in the order it was played out. This is a preliminary post to give you the result quickly, but over the next few days we will report separately Night 1, Fan Appreciation Day, Night 2 and Night 3.

We have a stack of great “Behind the Scenes” images to show you and some very special on-track images compliments of Victoria’s Corey Gibson from Corey Gibson Photography –

So please come back and check out the updates – you want be disappointed !

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.