Jason Kendrick is WA Sprintcar Champion 2014/15

Images by Peter “Straight Shooter” Roebuck, Words by Darren “The Digger” O’Dea

JASON Kendrick is the WA Sprintcar Champion for the 2014-15 season after winning the prestigious event at the Perth Motorplex on Saturday night.

Kendrick started from pole position and led all 30 laps to win his second championship, this time from the fast-finishing Californian Kyle Hirst and Brooke Tatnell.

The margin at the end of the sensational race was just 0.495 of a second.

Kendrick earned the right to start from pole after winning the A Dash in what was a great recovery after the team was forward to change a motor mid-way through the night.

He claimed a third and a fifth in his heat races.

Jason Kendrick crossed the line just 1/2 a second ahead of Californian Kyle Hirst

Proud Family - The Kendrick Clan after the WA State Title victory

Hirst, started on the front row with Kendrick and put in his best drive yet for the Monte Motorsport crew, showing they will be a tough team when they start their World Series Sprintcars campaign in Adelaide on Boxing Day.

Brooke Tatnell took third after starting from P5 and it was the third successive podium finish for Krikke Motorsport, following up from another third at the Motorplex two weeks ago and a win in Bunbury last week.

David Priolo, Ryan Farrell, Shane Norris, Cameron Gessner, Callum Williamson, Shaun Bradford and Kye Scroop rounded out the top 10

Four-time WA champion Mark Wells, who qualified in P7 for the final, withdrew after the Bronze Dash with steering box issues.

Jake-Beard Miller was the first casualty in the feature race, getting out of shape and slamming in the main straight fence at the end of the first lap.

Jake Beard-Miller gets plenty of grip at the Motorplex

Troy Lawson got crossed up two laps into the final and was collected by Troy Beckingham who had nowhere to go and rolled over, damaging the car with one of the front wheels flying through the air.

Priolo, who started from P3, was locked in a great duel with Hirst for many laps as the pair of red cars traded slide jobs and positions in a high-speed game of chess that Hirst eventually won as Priolo dropped back as far as fifth at one stage.

Kendrick held his nerve and made smart decisions in heavy lapped traffic to maintain a handy buffer for much of the final.

Gessner was having one of those nights after have throttle problems in a heat race and started from P10.

He spun on lap 12 and was sent to the rear of the field on the restart but managed to make up some serious ground in the latter stages.

Shaun Bradford and two-time champion Jamie Maiolo were hustling in the middle of the pack and made up some ground, including passing Callum Williamson who go eventually got the better of that deal.

Ryan Farrell, chasing his eighth WA championship, started from P4 and was on the pace for most of the contest that included some great racing with Priolo but ultimately he was nearly nine seconds off the win.

Shane Norris put in a credible result to start and finish sixth in the prestigious race.


Group 1 qualifying: Ryan Farrell 13.908, Ryan Lancaster 13.963, Scott Reilly 14.327 and Rob Watson 14.354. Group 2 qualifying: Shane Norris 14.224, Ken Sartori 14.273, Cameron Gessner 14.304, Bradley Maiolo 14.441 and Daniel Keen (one lap) 15.442. Group 3: Kyle Hirst 14.196, David Priolo 14.257, Darren Mewett 14.312, Jake Beard-Miller 14.375 and Carl Dowling 15.257. Group 4: Mark Wells 14.230, Shaun Bradford 14.440, Daniel Harding 14.479, Jason Pryde 14.792, Brodie Minchin 14.862. Group 5: Jason Kendrick 14.142, Brooke Tatnell 14.164, Troy Beckingham 14.604 and Lee Nash 14.900. Group 6: Callum Williamson 14.448, Jamie Maiolo 14.517, Troy Lawson 14.860 and Kye Scroop 14.905.

Heat 1: 1st Mark Wells, 2nd Ken Sartori, 3rd Jason Kendrick, 4th Daniel Harding, 5th Ryan Lancaster, 6th Bradley Maiolo, 7th Brodie Minchin. DNF: Troy Beckingham and Robert Watson junior.

Heat 2: 1st Kyle Hirst, 2nd Shaun Bradford, 3rd Callum Williamson, 4th Brooke Tatnell, 5th Lee Nash, 6th Darren Mewett, 7th Troy Lawson, 8th Carl Dowling, 9th Jason Pryde.

Heat 3: 1st Shane Norris, 2nd Ryan Farrell, 3rd Jamie Maiolo, 4th David Priolo, 5th Kye Scroop, 6th Scott Reilly, 7th Jake Beard-Miller, 8th Daniel Keen, 9th Cameron Gessner.

Heat 4: 1st Lee Nash, 2nd Brooke Tatnell, 3rd Callum Williamson, 4th Troy Lawson, 5th Jason Kendrick, 6th Troy Beckingham. DNF: Ryan Lancaster and Robert Watson junior.

Heat 5: 1st Jake Beard-Miller, 2nd Carl Dowling, 3rd David Priolo, 4th Scott Reilly, 5th Kyle Hirst, 6th Ryan Farrell, 7th Shaun Bradford, 8th Darren Mewett, 9th Jason Pryde.

Heat 6: 1st Daniel Keen, 2nd Bradley Maiolo, 3rd Cameron Gessner, 4th Jamie Maiolo, 5th Ken Sartori, 6th Kye Scroop, 7th Daniel Harding, 8th Shane Norris, 9th Mark Wells, 10th Brodie Minchin.

B Main: 1st Kye Scroop,2nd Daniel Keen, 3rd Troy Beckingham, 4th Jason Pryde, 5th Carl Dowling, 6th Brodie Minchin. DNF: Robert Watsons junior.

A Main: 1st Jason Kendrick, 2nd Kyle Hirst, 3rd Brooke Tatnell, 4th David Priolo, 5th Ryan Farrell, 6th Shane Norris, 7th Cameron Gessner, 8th Callum Williamson, 9th Shaun Bradford, 10th Kye Scroop, 11th Ryan Lancaster, 12th Scott Reilly, 13th Daniel Harding, 14th Bradley Maiolo, 15th Carl Dowling, 16th Jason Pryde, 17th Daniel Keen, 18th Troy Lawson and 19th Darren Mewett. DNF: Jamie Maiolo, Ken Sartori, Lee Nash, Troy Beckingham, Jake Beard-Miller. DNS: Mark Wells, Brodie Minchin and Robert Watson junior.

The Kendrick Team celebrate the Team's WA State Title

Jason Kendrick was a deserved winner - his 2nd WA Championship

WA State Chamionship Podium: L to R Kyle Hirst (2nd), Jason Kendrick (Winner) and Brooke Tatnell (3rd)

Champagne Shower - 3rd placed Brooke Tatnell "Cools" Jason Kendrick down

Perth Motorplex Speedway Manager interviews Jason Kendrick

Jason Kendrick celebrates his victory with a donut

Big Scott Reilly leads eventual B-Main winner Kye Scroop

Former WA State Champion Mark Wells did not start the A-Main as a result of steering related problems

The Watsons Express Pit and those awesome manicured Perth Motorplex lawns

Daniel Keen #90 and Jason Pryde do battle

Jason Kendrick and Team had the car set up perfectly

Kyle Hirst (#17) had a great battle with David Priolo

Troy Beckingham took a tumble

Shane Norris gets right in close with Daniel Harding (#12)

Mark Wells before the steering issues sidelined him

Jamie Maiolo (#99) in full flight ahead of Kye Scroop

The Smooth style of Jason Kendrick

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.