Brooke Tatnell Dominates Bunbury AHG Rnd 5

Tension mounts as the A-Main is seconds away

All Images by Peter “Straight Shooter” Roebuck, words by Darren “The Digger” O’Dea

Brooke Tatnell dominated at the business end of the night to win round five of the AHG Sprintcar Series at Quit Bunbury Speedway on Saturday night.

The American-based professional powered the Krikke Motorsports #2 to a 3.488 second win over Cameron Gessner and Jason Kendrick (who started from P6) in the 30-lap race that took some time to get going but then became a high-speed shootout to the finish line.

It was a good night for Tatnell who was the quickest qualifier in his group and then won his first heat race before finishing third in the next outing.

Tatnell won the Gold Dash that set up his pole position alongside Gessner for the main event.

Brooke Tatnell - Successful at Bunbury for the Krikke Motorsport Team

The first attempt at a start was quickly aborted after Californian Kyle Hirst got out of control, causing a chain reaction that saw Ken Sartori withdraw from the contest after starting from P7.

Hirst, who started from P5, had a flat front tyre and was sent to the rear of the field for the full restart where he joined by Ryan Jones who parked the #49 machine.

The red lights came on when Daryl Clayden flipped on the exit of turn four after contact with Jake Beard-Miller, parking another two cars on the infield.

Ryan Farrell, who struggled with engine gremlins after setting quick time (13.575 sec) and started from P19, was the big winner early on when drivers on the inside starting row dropped out and he was making some strong ground.

Callum Williamson, who started from P9, put a move on Mark Wells for sixth around midrace distance but was not able to hold down that spot after crashing out on eight laps to go.

There were some great moves up and down the order but the hero of the night was Tatnell who backed up his third at the Perth Motorplex last week with a great win.

Farrell finished crossed the line fourth but was disqualified from the event after he didn’t return his car to scales after the feature race.

Fourth ultimately went to Jamie Maiolo (who started from P12) and was followed over the line by Brad Maiolo (started P10), Wells (started P8), Daniel Harding (started P15), Shaun Bradford (from P3), David Priolo (from P4) and Scott Reilly (from P20) who rounded out the top 10.


Group 1: Brooke Tatnell 13.642, Brad Maiolo 13.733, Kye Scroop 13.851, Jamie Maiolo 13.864 Kris Coyle 13.929, Lee Nash 13.962.

Group 2: Jason Kendrick 13.521, Cameron Gessner 13.661, Daniel Keen 14.015, Callum Williamson 14.029, Ken Sartori 14.101, Ryan Jones 14.104, Daryl Clayden 14.304.

Group 3: Ryan Farrell 13.575, Kyle Hirst 13.629, Ryan Lancaster 13.755, Jake Beard-Miller 13.846, Daniel Harding 13.942, Darren Mewett 13.945.

Group 4: Shaun Bradford 13.692, David Priolo 13.834, Mark Wells 13.844, Troy Beckingham 13.965, Scott Reilly 14.038.

Heat 1: 1st Jason Kendrick, 2nd Shaun Bradford, 3rd Brad Maiolo, 4th Kye Scroop, 5th Jamie Maiolo, 6th Troy Beckingham. DNF: Daryl Clayden and Daniel Keen. DNS: Brodie Minchin.

Heat 2: 1st Ryan Farrell, 2nd Cameron Gessner, 3rd Jake Beard-Miller, 4th Lee Nash, 5th Ryan Lancaster, 6th Callum Williamson, 7th Kris Coyle. DNF: Ryan Jones.

Heat 3: 1st Brooke Tatnell, 2nd Kyle Hirst, 3rd Ken Sartori, 4th Mark Wells, 5th Daniel Harding, 6th David Priolo, 7th Scott Reilly, 8th Darren Mewett.

Heat 4: 1st Callum Williamson, 2nd Kris Coyle, 3rd Shaun Bradford, 4th Kye Scroop, 5th Troy Beckingham, 6th Ryan Lancaster. DNF: Daryl Clayden and Ryan Farrell.

Heat 5: 1st Ryan Jones, 2nd Daniel Harding, 3rd David Priolo, 4th Cameron Gessner, 5th Kyle Hirst, 6th Lee Nash, 7th Scott Reilly, 8th Jake Beard-Miller.

Heat 6: 1st Ken Sartori, 2nd Mark Wells, 3rd Brooke Tatnell, 4th Jamie Maiolo, 5th Jason Kendrick, 6th Brad Maiolo, 7th Darren Mewett. DNF: Brodie Minchin and Daniel Keen.

Feature: 1st Brooke Tatnell, 2nd Cameron Gessner, 3rd Jason Kendrick, 4th Jamie Maiolo, 5th Brad Maiolo, 6th Mark Wells, 7th Daniel Harding, 8th Shaun Bradford, 9th David Priolo, 10th Scott Reilly, 11th Darren Mewett, 12th Lee Nash, 13th Ryan Lancaster, 14th Brodie Minchin, 15th Troy Beckingham. DNF: Callum Williamson, Kris Coyle, Kyle Hirst, Kye Scroop, Jake Beard-Miller, Daryl Clayden, Ken Sartori, Ryan Jones. DNS: Daniel Keen.DQ: Ryan Farrell – for not returning his car to scale after the race

4-Wide salute

Podium L to R: Cameron Gessner (2nd), Brooke Tatnell (winner), Jason Kendrick (3rd and set QT)

Jubilant - Brooke Tatnell

Californian Kyle Hirst gets a little sideways as Cameron Gessner arrives

Hyle Hirst (#17) gets into some serious trouble

Kris Coyle timed in with a 13.929 sec qualifying effort

Ryan Lancaster "set the place alight"

Callum Williamson was a DNF in the feature

Daniel Keen took a wild ride early in the program

Mark Wells in the magnificent #21 Murphy

Kyle Hirst loves driving the Monte Motorsport #17

Cameron Gessner hikes the left front in his 13.661 Qualifying lap

Brooke Tatnell managed 13.642 sec (3rd best) in Qualifying

Kyle Hirst (RHS) in happy conversation with Brooke Tatnell

Daniel Keen's car was awarded best looking - little wonder given the amount of effort that went into prep'ing it !

Mark Wells refelects on the program ahead with his #21 Murphy

Better Nights - Kris Coyle was a DNF

Action a plenty at Bunbury Rnd 5 AHG Series that also doubled as Rnd 2 of the Southern Thunder Series! Ryan Lancaster gets right in the middle of it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.