Ryan Farrell Rocks the Perth Motorplex in Grand Opening Blitz

All Images by Peter “Straight Shooter” Roebuck, Words by ‘The Digger” Darren O’Dea

RYAN Farrell’s return to Sprintcar racing has been a triumphant one, claiming the opening round of the 2014-15 AHG Sprintcar Series from Jamie Maiolo, Cameron Gessner, Mark Wells and Carl Dowling at the Perth Motorplex Speedway last night.

On Top of the World - Ryan Farrell was triumphant in his return to racing

Farrell started on pole for the 25-lap feature race and was the early leader from Jason Kendrick and Shaun Bradford before Troy Lawson went over in pits bend for the first red light situation of the season.

Five laps further in Callum Williamson rolled in a similar spot.

Bradford, who was hovering around fourth place, dropped back a few spots midrace distance as Daniel Keen slowed up, forcing a restart around the same time. Bradford eventually dropped back to finish 11th.

The pace for the top six drivers for much of the race was unbelievable, particularly as they muscled around lapped traffic in the latter stages. Kendrick dipped his nose under Farrell to signal his intentions with five laps remaining but Farrell was up for the challenge.

On the last lap Kendrick powered around the outside of Farrell on the back straight on the last lap but as they approached pits bend they made contact, ripping the front left wheel off the #92 entry (see image below).

The field regrouped for a Green-White-Chequer showdown and Farrell held on to take the popular win.

Dowling, who started ninth, attempted a move on Wells for fourth in the dying stages but had to settle for fifth.

Podium: L to R: Jamie Maiolo (2nd), Ryan Farrell (1st), Cameron Gessner (3rd)

Ryan Farrell hard on the gas

Ryan Farrell and Jason Kendrick make racing contact with a couple of laps to go in the 25 lap A-Main - sadly Kendrick in the #92 machine was sidelined with damage to the left front wheel

There is no doubting the smooth style of Ryan Farrell

The night was packed with action - This time it was Troy Lawson

Mark Wells (21) in the new look Murphy tucks in under David Priolo

Shaun Bradford flexes his muscles in a dual with Jamie Maiolo (99)

Jake Beard-Miller gets the #32 up on two wheels

The field assembles for the action packed A-Main

Daniel Keen in the #90

Cameron Gessner ended up coming 3rd behind Ryan Farrell

The new Livery of the #21 Mark Wells Murphy

David Priolo in the #8 Watsons Express Transport rig in action

Thrills and Spills provided some entertainment for the good sized crowd as Daniel Harding's #12 is removed from "The Plex" - see next image for how it happened

A novel way around Kwinana, but not the quickest way around - Daniel Harding finds the fence as the Steward behind the fence heads South !

Lee Nash (#45) escapes the demolition involving Daniel Harding

The speed and experience of Ryan Farrell saw him bag victory in the Perth Motorplex Grand Opening Night

The evening was capped of with an awesome fireworks display

There were green lights, yellow lights and red lights in the sky as well as on the track

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.