Robbie Farr wins in rain at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway Track Championship Final

All Images by Gary Reid –
Words by Valvoline Raceway

Superstar Robbie Farr was just that in the 30 lap track championship grand final in between the showers at Valvoline Raceway last Saturday night (12th Aug). While Farr took race honours for the night, it was Max Dumesny who secured the 2013/14 Track Championship.

Robbie Farr (7) drives under Ben Atkinson to take the lead in the A Main

The meeting was interrupted by three bouts of showers, but the drivers managed to pack down the racing surface and keep it useable.

The 30 lap Championship Grand Final produced a stellar field and it was top end Ben Atkinson who took off from the front row and ran away with the opening 10 laps. Atkinson, Max Dumesny and Farr all used the high line to great effect and as the race hit the halfway point, a shower swept over the track and caused several more laps of wheel packing until chief steward Gary Winterbottom turned them loose again.

Atkinson went to the front while Dumesny was gathered in by Farr who then dived inside Atkinson for the lead.

As an aggressive driver with class to burn, Farr never let off the throttle and crossed clear of Dumesny, the track series champion and Atkinson and James Thompson.

Robbie Farr (centre) won the A Main from Max Dumesny (RHS) and Ben Atkinson

Ben Atkinson set quick time in time trials

Brad Stacey enters turn 3 in time trials

Warren Ferguson in the black N32

Hayley Sayers gets the throttle down in the brilliantly prepared N87

Seb Johnston gets tangled up with Hayley Sayers who went over

Fireworks in the 4-wide parade

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.