Dean Terry Wins Round 6 Southern Thunder 360 Series at Esperance in Carnage-Filled Event

Release by DTN Media

It was a change in fortunes from the previous night for many competitors, with Dean Terry outlasting the carnage suffered by a number of others, grabbing the lead at the right moment and then going on to claim a popular victory at Esperance on Jan 26th, bettering his ninth place finish the night previous in the SAWA State Title.

Aldo De Paioli returned to the track after rolling over heavily the night previous and claimed second place at the fall of the checkers, while Daniel Hawkins improved on last night’s sixth place to claim the final podium position.

Others who suffered a negative change in luck included new state champion Chris Ackland who crashed out, while last nights second placed finisher Troy Anderson also rolled over in the same incident. Steven Ford claimed third place last night but found himself spinning and sent rear of field on a restart.

Shaun Bradford once again suffered some bad luck as he was leading at lap eighteen until a broken radius rod forced him infield, while Corey Hunter also recorded a DNF with a flat tyre. Cory Gilpin and Jason Pryde, who joined the field for the second night of racing, also suffered bad luck after both spun to avoid the Ackland/Anderson incident and both sent rear of field on the restart as per the rule book.

Earlier in the night, nine heat races were held, with some hard racing, big crashes and eight different heat winners, with Bradford once again recording two heat victories.

Troy Anderson took the opening heat from Ian Woods and Steven Ford, while heat two went to Chris Ackland over Dean Terry and Steve Adley. The final heat of the opening round went to Jason Pryde over Cory Gilpin and Corey Hunter.

Heat four saw Ian Woods and Steve Adley come together hard, both suffering front end damage. The damage to the Ian Woods rig was substantial and he was out for the night. Owen Ahchee eventually took the heat from Aldo De Paioli and Steven Ford.

Heat five saw another incident with Brad Alabach going hard into the wall, while Bradford went to claim the heat win from Gilpin and Anderson.

Heat 6 went to Dean Terry over Corey Hunter and Ackland.

Bradford and Hunter came together in heat seven, with Hunter losing his nerf bar and being sent infield, while Bradford went on to claim the win from Anderson and Alabach who managed to repair his car.

Heat eight saw Jason Pryde cross the line first but get relegated two positions to third for stepping out of line within the field, handing the win to De Paioli over Terry.

The final Heat of the night went to Steven Ford over Daniel Hawkins and Ackland.

On behalf of SAWA we would like to thank the entire Esperance Speedway club and all their volunteers for a great show. There was an excellent crowd on hand for the weekend’s proceedings and the club put on a great show.

The next round of the MMS Civil 360 Sprintcar Power Series will be held on Saturday the 1st of March at Bunbury Speedway as part of the opening night of the Krikke Boys Shootout.

Podium: L to R - Aldo De Paioli 2nd, Dean Terry 1st, Daniel Hawkins 3rd

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.