Cameron Gessner Victorious in Coal Miners Cup

Big Cameron Gessner took the Coal Miner's Cup at Collie Speedway Dec 14th

Words and Images – Paul Griffin

Current defending AHG series Champion Cameron Gessner improved his Championship points position in this year’s series battle by taking out the Coal Miner’s Cup at WA’s Collie Speedway last Saturday night.

Gessner started on pole and led the entire 30 laps. Crossing the line close behind for 2nd was Trent Pigdon and former AHG Series Champion Jamie Maiolo.

Heats were run over 10 laps on the big 530m country clayway and went the way of Jason Kendrick, Jamie Maiolo, Cameron Gessner, Kye Scroop, Brad Maiolo and Sheldon Brady.

The Bronze dash was taken out by Trent Pigdon from Kye Scroop, The Silver Dash was won by Trent Pigdon from Cameron Gessner and then finally the lanky Cameron Gesner prevailed to take victory in the Gold Dash over Trent Pigdon.

Kye Scroop - Knocking on the door for an A-Main win

An honourable mention must go to Kye Scroop who is definitely inching toward his first major victory. Scroop was quick against the more experienced players earlier in the evening and accrued enough points to start from P6.

He battled hard during the course of the race and worked himself up to 2nd place but then encountered fuel line issues and was forced to retire with 6 laps remaining.

As is the case with Sydney Speedway, the WA boys take a short break with the next Meeting planned for Boxing Night РDec 26 at the Perth Motorplex.

Two days later on Sat 28th Dec the AHG Series returns to Bunbury Quit Speedway.

Points in the AHG series are as follows – notably with Cameron Gessner closing in on Luke Dillon and yet to play his double points “Joker” card:

1. Luke Dillon 1272 *

2. Cameron Gessner 1270

3. Jason Pryde 1264 *

4. Cale Sotiroff 1260 *

5. Jamie Maiolo 1236

6. Sheldon  Brady 1236 *

7. Callum Williamson 1230 *

8. Bradley Maiolo 1196

9. Trent Pigdon 1158 *

10. Jason Kendrick 1154

11. Ryan Lancaster 1152 *

12. Daniel Harding 1118 *

13. Carl Dowling 1096 *

14. Kye Scroop 1082

15. Lee Nash 1002

16. David Priolo 984

17. Shaun Bradford 876 *

18. Mark Wells 760

19. Troy Beckingham 526

20. Jason Boland 480

21. Brodie Minchin 396

22. Matt Young 252

* Indicates driver has played his double points “Joker” card.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.