Chad Ely makes it two in a row at Sonic Speedway

Words and Photo – Mandy “All Star” Searle

An ecstatic Chad Ely climbed out of his car and mounted his top wing after winning RD3 of the Mainline DynoLog Dynamometers All Star Series at Swan Hill’s Sonic Speedway last Saturday night. That made it back to back victories for the popular driver who credits his great start to the season to his recent American racing ventures and the strong team and backing he has this season.

For the start of the main event Sparklers illuminated the spectator area and car head lights flashed off and on in a show of appreciation as the cars went 4 wide on track. The field formed up with Ely and SA83 Shannon Barry lining up on the front row. Ely got the start and lead comfortably for the event. Barry holding on the 2nd was challenged early in the race by young SA44 Daniel Evans. V74 Michael Cunningham and ACT49 Matt Reed filling 4th, 5th & 6th. The top 6 were battling all night with any one in contention to take the win.

VIC #10 Kyle Hirst was unable to start the A with engine problems after the Shoot Out. Hirst looked good all night and this was not the finish the team wanted.

Brad Foster V11 had a return to form last night looking comfortable in the car on the slick race track. V23 Jimmy Gardener put in his best performance with an 8th place finish after wrecking his car last weekend at Moama. Unfortunately the travelling Queenslander Brent Kratzmann did not have his best night rolling in the early stages of the A.

Heat Wins: Matt Reed, Kyle Hirst, Darryl Guerin, Shaun Forrell, Brenten Farrer, Daniel Evans.

A Main – SA22 Chad Ely, SA83 Shannon Barry, V74 Michael Cunningham, ACT49 Matt Reed, SA44 Daniel Evans, SA96 Darryl Guerin, V7 Paul Solomon,V23 Jimmy Gardiner,V11 Brad Foster,V4 Phil Lock, SA43Shane Hendry, V99Zac Farrer, ACT26Tony Moule-DNF, V83Chris Solomon-DNF, V34 Brenten Farrer DNF, Q77Brent Kratzmann DNF, NSW36 Eddie Lumber DNF, ACT8 Shaun Forrell, V90 Corey McCullagh DNF

Chad Ely nailed the A-Main two weeks in a row. He is flanked here at Sonic Speedway by second placed Shannon Barry (left) and Michael "Head em Up" Cunningham

Contingency Awards:

Red Ed Sheds Lucky 7’s – Paul Solomon

Bar Up 8 – Jimmy Gardiner

Hoosier Hero – Chad Ely

Oval Express Magazine Quick Time – Matt Reed

Fire Service Plus Hot Arse – Shane Hendry

IDIGIT Luck Draw – Shannon Barry

QT Hard Charger – Matt Reed

Ronnies 50 – Zac Farrer


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.