Robbie Farr Takes 2012/13 Queensland Open Sprintcar Title

As the mainstream Australian Sprintcar season comes to a close for 2012/13, Robbie Farr seems to keep getting better and better. The Darwin Top End racing Calendar gets under way this month but Queensland still has a couple of events to run.

Robbie Farr

And last weekend (27th April) Queensland hosted their very own Open State Title at the picturesque Maryborough Speedway. Former QLD title winner Robbie Farr claimed the spoils yet again in spectacular fashion ahead of a great drive from Danny Reidy and the hard charging Brent Aprile. A total of twenty Six Sprintcars nominated for the event.

Originally scheduled for a 35 lap journey, the race distance was cut back to 30 laps due to a rubber down track surface that was simply punishing to right rears. The Title race was surrounded by massive nervous tension at the start and suffered a number of aborted attempts to get underway.

Finally a full rotation was laid down and James McFadden shot out to the front. On a restart 3 laps in, Farr took control of proceedings and jumped to the lead. He had selected to run an extremely hard right rear compound tyre on the rubber down surface and was an expert at preserving this rubber. Farr powered on to victory as others suffered tyre failures on the harsh surface. Names that succumbed to the horrendously arduous conditions with resultant tyre issues included Peter Lack, Kevin Titman, Jeremy Cross, Davis Murcott, James McFadden and Darren Jensen. As Farr crossed the line to take his popular victory, only 9 cars remained on the track out of a total of 18 starters.

Earlier in the evening Farr set the scene by bagging Quick Time with a 11.315 sec. Just behind by the narrowest of margins was James McFadden with 11.316 sec (Just 1/1000ths of a second down).

The A Dash was to set the order of the first 6 spots on the grid (ie: the first 3 rows). James McFadden won from Robbie Farr, Peter Lack, Danny Reidy, Andrew Scheuerle and Brent April

The B Dash set the order for positions P7 to P12. David Murcott was victorious from Bryan “Surfie Joe” Mann and Jeremy Cross, Paul Rooks, Brett Smith and Paul “Supercar” Morris.

The 20 lap B-Main was won by David “Blingy” Muir from Kevin Titman, Jake Tranter, Darren “Raise the Titanic” Jensen, Brodie “Racehorse” Tulloch and Brad Ayers. These drivers all tacked onto the end of the A-Main field (18 cars).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.