Jeremy Cross Wins Final Sydney Speedway Sprintcar Race for 2013 – Ben Atkinson takes Track Championship Honours

All Images By Gary Reid, Words by Paul Griffin

Sydney Speedway turned on one of the best Feature races of the season last Saturday night when Dubbo’s Jeremy Cross streaked over the finish line in the 35 lap final ahead of Trevor Green and Warren Ferguson.

A Main podium (l-r): Warren Ferguson (3rd), Jeremy Cross (1st), Trevor Green (2nd)

Jeremy Cross takes the chequered flag

Ben Atkinson despite crashing out on the first lap while trying to avoid the looping Matt Smith with a flat rear had secured sufficient points to claim the Sydney Speedway Track Championship.

Ben Atkinson is 2012/13 Sydney Speedway Sprintcar Track Champion

The final Sprintcar race of the season was action packed and drama filled with any one of 6 Driver’s during the course of the race looking like they were capable of going the distance.

Craig Brady started from pole and shot to an early lead ahead of the in-form Steve Caunt. Brady was looking relatively confident in front while Caunt was fending off a determined Toby Belbowen. Further back were Jeremy Cross and Max Dumesny who were entering into their own battle. Dumesny and Cross then paired up in a battle for second with Caunt and Bellbowen.

All four racers were trading places and desperate top push forward and stay in touch with Brady.

Bellbowen and Dumesny touched with 10 laps The Bellbowen rig came off second best and Toby was out of contention as he spun.

On the restart Caunt realised that he was running out of laps and ran hard with Brady. They were so close, in fact too close for comfort and the two cars touched into turn 2. Momentum carried the Brady car down the straight and into a violent flip, finally coming to rest and out of the race in turn 4.

This put Caunt out in front and the chance of his first Feature win of the season. Dumesny’s car was coming on strong. And with just 4 laps remaining Dumesny drew up on the inside of Caunt. The cars touched and Caunt suffered front suspension damage, while Dumesny was unable to continue with a flat right rear.

Enter the patient Jeremy cross who had been giving it his all while all this was going on. Cross was using every inch of the track including purposely dropping of the cushion and running close to the flagstand down the main straight to broaden his turn 1 entry.

Cross stuck two feet on the accelerator and prevailed over Trevor Green who just pipped Warren Ferguson. Green had come storming through from 20th position and Warren had done it the hard way from the B-Main. It was Cross’s 2nd feature win of the season.

It was an awesome race and well worth reliving on the Sydney Speedway website under the videos tab.

Toby Bellbowen (70) tries to hold off eventual A Main winner Jeremy Cross (39)


Darryl Campbell (28) and Max Johnston (38) early in the A Main


Daniel Needham crashed out of the B main while having a commanding lead


Damian Abbott (16) leads Matt Smith (74) and Daniel Needham (95) in heat race action


Trevor Green stormed his way to 2nd in the A Main after staring in P20


Warren Ferguson came from the B Main to run 3rd in the A Main


Thanks to Gary Reid for these great images and all those rippers through the season.

If you wish to purchase photos from Gary Reid, he has a massive archive of material and can be contacted on :

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.