Robbie Farr wins 360 Austalian Sprintcar Title for 2013 – Bunbury Speedway Results

All Images by Peter Roebuck, Words by Paul Griffin.

Robbie Farr stormed to victory in the 360 Sprintcar Title at Bunbury last weekend and in so doing stormed into the record books at the same time. Farr is now the first on only Driver in Australian Speedway history to win the Open National Sprintcar Title, the National Speedcar Title and now with his latest barnstorming effort the National 360 Sprintcar Title.

Robbie Farr does the Wing Dance after taking the 360 National Title

Phil March and George Tatnell have both won Australian Open Sprintcar and Speedcar titles, but now Robbie Farr has shot to the accolades lead with this latest victory.

Driving the Monte Motorsport W17 J&J, Farr was simply too good on the Bunbury Clayway over the two frantic nights of Competition.

Farr started the A-Main Title race in a handy second row position with Stephen Lines in the Brian Hall owned W3 alongside him. On the front row Jason Kendrick had done remarkably well to secure pole position in a star studded field. Brad Maiolo shared the front row with Kendrick.

The race was punctuated by various stoppages but Farr was able to rely on his experience, maintain ascendency and stay well out of harm’s way to pick up one of the biggest wins of his career. It was a welcome result for the normally East Coast Pipelines Racing Team Driver after a frustrating season that arguably resulted in far fewer podium finishes than Farr is accustomed to. Farr normally pilots the EPR Q7 Maxim.

Following Farr across the finish line was Luke Dillon in the ultra-competitive Diamond Bay Motorsport/Bunbury Auto Group W26 Maxim and Victorian Driver Matthew Reed in the W53 Muir Motorsports entry. Fourth went to a determined Steven Lines and 5th was taken out with a great drive from Sprintcar relative newcomer Daniel Harding in his W12.

Title Podium L to R: 2nd Luke Dillon, 1st Robbie Farr, 3rd Matthew Reed

Defending Champion Ryan Jones was only able to complete 17 laps of the monster 40 lap final with car damage forcing him out and dashing his chances of a back to back victory.

Defending Champ Ryan Jones from SA drove the V75 but was a DNF in the Final

It was the largest ever field of cars fighting it out for the 360 national Title honours with 51 cars nominating. Not surprisingly, West Australian cars were out in force and dominated with 41 entries. Only 4 cars made it across the Nullarbor from South Australia, 1 from the ACT (former National 360 Champ Tony Moule), 3 from Victoria and 2 from the Northern Territory.

Friday night saw 3 heats for each Driver and a preliminary A-Main. The Preliminary A-Main was won by Luke Dillon from Robbie Farr, Jason Kendrick and Brad Maiolo. It looked certain the ultimate winner was going to come from one of these guys.

Saturday night each Driver got an additional heat. The C-main was won by Tim Gardiner from Jake Beard-Miller, Steve Adley and Gary Bielby. The top 2 would transfer to the B-Main.

The B-Main was taken out by Keke Falland from Tony Moule, Jason McIver and Nathan Peet.

Robbie Farr celebrates his victory with young son Colton also joining in

Robbie Farr in the Monte Motorsport W17 was too strong all weekend

Happy Campers ! - Robbie Farr and Team at the end of the Final

Robbie Farr is the only man in Australian Speedway history to take the National trophy in 360 Sprintcars, Open Sprintcars and Speedcars

Moment of truth - Robbie Farr takes the Chequer and makes history

Steven Lines at Full Noise on the Bunbury Clay

Third placed Matthew Reed (W53) from Victoria drove for WA car Owner Mat Muir

This great shot from Peter Roebuck shows just how hooked up the track was

Daniel Keen (W90) leads Trent Pigdon (W19)

Chris Ackland (W11) leads Bill Stocks (W64)

Bill Stocks (W64) and Dean Terry do battle

Former National 360 Champion just couldn't match the pace of the other Teams this year

Terry Cutts (W9) stays low while Trent Pigdon (W19) searches for grip mid-track



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.