Tim Kaeding Wins Krikke Boys Shootout 2013 – Bunbury Speedway Results

Images by Peter Roebuck

Sunday 4th March – USA Sprintcar Star Tim Kaeding has won the 2013 Krikke Boys Shootout Final in fine fashion at Quit Bunbury Speedway in Western Australia.

2013 Krikke Boys Podium - Suited Drivers L to R: Kerry Madsen (3rd), Tim Kaeding (1st), Steven Lines (2nd) - Image Peter Roebuck

Kaeding crossed the line ahead of Australians Steven Lines and Kerry Madsen. Robbie Farr, Jason Kendrick and Janie Maiolo rounded out the top 6.

Kaeding was able to pull off a feat that very few Drivers have in the History of the Krikke Boys Race – He won both the Preliminary Night Race on Saturday Night (2nd March) and the all important Final the following night. Usually the inform Driver on the Prelim night never seems to be able to get it together to run out a “back to back”. But the American Visitor was in devastating form and was confident and composed throughout the 35 lap journey.

Wing Dance - Tim Kaeding - Image Peter Roebuck

A very happy Tim Kaeding with Event Promoters John Krikke (L) and Ron Krikke (R) - Image Peter Roebuck

Tim Kaeding drove the best race of his Australian Summer Campaign to take the 2013 KBS trophy and $20,000 Winner's Cheque - Image Peter Roebuck

Steven Lines fought for many laps with Robbie Farr and finally prevailed for 2nd place. Farr had Driven a solid campaign all weekend and looked like he may have had his name on the 3rd placed trophy, but the swashbuckling Kerry Madsen had other ideas and charged from P12 to grab the final podium in what was a great and gusty drive,

Robbie Farr drove solidly all weekend and finished 4th in the Final - Image Peter Roebuck

In something of a rarity, Shane Stewart was not able to make the A-Main after a big “Junk It” in heats. The following sequence shows the intensity of Stewart’s Lose. The Monte Motorsport Team were devastated after the incident.


The lead up to the A-main went like this:

HEAT 1 – Steven Lines, Jamie Maiolo, Kerry Madsen

HEAT 2 – Max Dumesny, Tim Kaeding, Ben Dickson

HEAT 3 – Randy Hannagan, Carl Dowling, Lee Nash

HEAT 4 – Luke Dillon, Ian Madsen, Kris Coyle

CHALLENGE : MID PACK MADNESS (All 6 transfer in finishing order) – Ian Madsen, Kerry Madsen, Chad Ely, Kye Scroop, Sheldon Brady, Mark Wells

DASH – Tim Kaeding, Steven Lines, Max Dumesny, Kris Coyle, Luke Dillon, Robbie Farr, Jason Kendrick, Jamie Maiolo, Randy Hannagan, Carl Dowling

B MAIN (4 transfers) – Callum Williamson, Trent Pigdon, Lee Nash, Brad Maiolo

2013 KBS Winner Tim Kaeding is swamped by fans - Image Peter Roebuck

Tim Kaeding and his Spoils of Victory - Image Peter Roebuck

Jamie Maiolo (W99) and Steven Lines (W5) get set for a heat start at Bunbury - Image Peter Roebuck

Time to get Serious - Out comes the 4-Wide sign - Image Peter Roebuck

Perfect Balance - Tim Kaeding on route to the KBS victory - Image Peter Roebuck

Max Dumesny raced in the unfamiliar W65 Valvoline entry Image Peter Roebuck

Our American Buddy and all-time good sport Randy Hannagan with the trusty Muir Motorsport cricket bat in hand during driver introductions - Image Peter Roebuck

The Two LJM Racing Maiolo cars ahead of Trent Pigdon (left rear) and Lee Nash (Right Rear) - Image Peter Roebuck


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.