Steven Lines Wins The 2013 Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic

Steven Lines driving the Halls Haulage/Bridgestone Tyres Albany W3 KPC has scorched to victory in the 2013 Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway  in spectacular fashion in front of a lock-out crowd. He prevailed in a total field of 98 drivers which included 18 hotshoe Americans. No easy task !!

Steven Lines (R) and Halls Motorsport Team Owner Brian Hall hold the $30,000 winner's cheque aloft

Lines started from the front row after a massive two days of qualification racing along side Tim Kaeding in the W2 KMS Cool. Kaeding got the jump early and second “rower” Terry McCarl settled into 2nd position with Lines in 3rd.

To his credit Lines stayed in touch with the two Americans for 6 laps and then pulled the move of the Championship with a blinding low line pass on both McCarl and Kaeding down the front straight. Lines simultaneously swept past the talented Americans – catapulting himself from 3rd to 1st in one mega-fast barnstorming move.

From that point Lines was never really headed. The race experienced several stoppages but each time Lines was able to get the jump on the restart and create a handy break over McCarl. Lapped traffic almost played a role in the closing stages as Lines battled to pass Danny Reidy and current Australian Champion James McFadden. It took what seemed like endless laps for Lines to dig deep and get around these back marker speedsters.

Lines sensed that McCarl was close and refused to let the same “position stealing” happen as the prelim night before.

Steven Lines held his position, drove with a cool mind and kept the wolves at bay. He crossed the finishing line comfortably in front of Terry McCarl and then further back was Brooke Tatnell for 3rd. Tatnell had driven superbly after being placed 16th on points after Night 1 and then from P6 starting position in the Championship A-Main forged through to take the final podium placing.

Brian Hall and Steven Lines are elated at the Team's Stunning GASC Victory

Steven Lines - 2013 Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic Champion

Halls Motorsport Team Owner Brian Hall celerates the "Classic" victory

A full report with results and photos on the 2013 Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic will follow in the next day.


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.