Photos by Gary Reid. Words by Paul Griffin.

(Sat Dec 29) – Gary Brazier stormed past Ian Madsen with just eight laps remaining in the running of the 55th NSW Sprintcar Title to take the lead and ultimate victory at Sydney Speedway . It was Brazier’s 7th NSW Title.

Second across the line in the 35 lap final was Ian Madsen, followed by Trevor Green, American Joey Saldana, Max Dumesny, Victorian Jamie Veal, USA Visitor Jason Sides, Troy Little, Ben Atkinson and Matt Smith rounding out the top 10.

Garry Brazier won the 55th NSW Sprintcar Championship, his seventh win in the prestigious event

The podium (l-r): Ian Madsen (2nd), Garry Brazier (1st), Trevor Green (3rd), World Speedway GP Champion Chris Holder

Five laps into the race American Rico Abreu brought on the reds with a violent flip in turn 4 and was forced to retire. Lynton Jeffery, Jeremy Cross and Kody Kinser were also non-finishers in the event.

Earlier in the evening Ian Madsen set Quick Time (12.561). Max Dumesny was next best with 12.740 sec. Quickest of the visiting American’s was Jason Sides (12.763 – 3rd quickest) while Rico Abreu clocked in 8th quickest (13.103) and Joey Saldana bagged 9th quickest (13.216) . Third home in the A-Main, Trevor Green clocked a 13.344 for 16th best out of the 47 car field.

Heats were taken out by Trevor Green, Ben Atkinson, Matt Smith and Garry Brazier.

Turn 1 action (l-r): Toby Bellbowen (70), Troy Little (20), Max Johnston (38), Matt Young (61), Darryl Campbell (28), James Thompson (22), Allan Woods (28)

4-wide flag parade: Ian Madsen (11), Joey Saldana (9), Jason Sides (7), Toby Bellbowen (70)

Warren Ferguson

Trevor Green came 3rd

Garry Brazier in Time Trials

Troy Little

Ian Madsen set quick time

Max Dumesny set 2nd Quick Time

Thanks to Gary Reid for these great images.

If you wish to purchase photos from Gary Reid, he has a massive archive of material and can be contacted on :


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.