Last Saturday night Sydney Speedway ran the first Club Show for Sprintcars in season 2012/13. The theory of the Club Show Schedule is to run a lower prize money meeting that provides the lesser up-and-coming teams a chance to get some very valuable competitive laps under their belt and earn a bit of “coin” – the ultimate aim being to foster improvement in a racing environment that precludes the big budget dominant A-Grade outfits.

To make things really interesting the first three across the line in the A-Main start rear of the qualified cars at the next club show. There are several more Club Shows planned for the summer season.

Twenty-Three cars nominated for the meeting which saw a great evening of racing with Ben Atkinson in the Pick ‘N Payless entry taking the spoils in the Feature, followed by Peter Bourke and Jackson Delamont.

Ben Atkinson (left) won the Sprintcar A Main at Sydney Speedway last Saturday, defeating Peter Bourke - Photo by Gary Reid

Atkinson started deep in the pack for the A-Main and fought hard on a challenging slick track to prevail. A mid-race “slack-attack” very nearly saw Atkinson put the #2 on its lid and take himeslf out of contention. Experience came into play as Atkinson looped the Pick ‘N Payless  J&J, dropped a handful of spots, stood on the gas and then set about charging to the front.

After this mid-race loop in the A Main, Ben Atkinson kept it going and lost some places, but came back through the field to take victory - Photo By Gary Reid

Roddy Bell Bowen was quick and impressive early on until mechanical complications forced him to the infield. The surprise packet was undoubtedly Matt Smith who led for a greater percentage of the A- Feature in only his second outing in a Sprintcar. Smith had the misfortune of running out of fuel and succumbing to Ben Atkinson.

Alan Woods was impressive during the heats in his new QT Chassis taking a win and a second.

Heat races were over 10 lpas and taken out as follows:

Heat 1 – Ben Atkinson, Ian Burrows, Alan Woods

Heat 2 – Clayton Hart, Matt Smith, Roddy Bell Bowen

Heat 3 – Brad Stacey, Blake Skipper, Danny Hogan

Heat 4 – Alan Woods, Mark Attard, Jackson Delamont

Heat 5 – Matt Smith, Clayton Hart, Kim Becker

Heat 6 – Blake Skipper, Michael Matchett, Peter Bourke

Ben Atkinson cranks up the #2 J&J in hot laps - Photo by Gary Reid

Young Jackson Delamont during his heat race at Sydney Speedway last Saturday. He ran third in the A Main - Photo by Gary Reid

Rod Bellbowen (7) and Matt Smith (74) battle it out in a heat race. Smith went on to lead most of the A Main before running out of fuel - Photo By Gary Reid

The smart looking team of Warren Vassall (97) and Hayley Sayers (87) at Sydney Speedway last Saturday - Photo by Gary Reid

3 wide action in the A-Main: Mark Attard (52), Ian Burrows (27), Kim Becker (51) - Photo by Gary Reid


The next Club Meeting at Sydney Speedway is slated for November 17th.

Thanks to Sydney Speedway’s Gary Reid for the photgraphs.

If you wish to purchase photos from Gary Reid, he  has a massive archive of material and can be contacted on :

Gary  is a regular contributor to Torque Tube and we look forward to seeing great action shots from him this season from NSW’s premier track – Sydney Speedway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.