Story and photos by Scott Kernahan

Weekend number two concluded over August 31 and September 1 for the Chariots of Thunder Sprintcar Series at Lucas Oils Northline Speedway in Darwin with victory to Tony Moule out of the A.C.T.

Tony Moule - 1st Place in the 2012 COT - photo by Scott Kernahan

The heavily fancied trio of Steven Lines, Trent Pigdon and Jason McIver all suffered at the hands of fate over the two nights. Lines succumbed again to engine failure for the second weekend in a row after dominating heat 1 on the Friday night and more than matching the pace that Pigdon had displayed up until then. But unfortunately the engine let go again sidelining Lines for the event.

Jason McIver showed awesome pace on the Friday night to race away with the victory whilst earlier in the night, Pigdon had an altercation with Peter McIver in a boisterous move into turn 1 and they tangled with Pigdon tipping the #19 machine over onto it’s side in a rather gentle fashion.

Pigdon came home 2nd in the feature race with Jamie McInnes placing 3rd.

Trent Pigdon and Crash Crews survey the damage - photo by Scott Kernahan

The final night commenced in sensational circumstances when Trent Pigdon slammed the turn 2 wall in hot laps after the rear end let go. Extensive damaged was sustained which saw the PMS team spend most of the night getting the 2nd car ready.

Jason McIver was again the pace setter with McInnes and Moule looming large as the only credible threats following the demise of Lines the night before and the misfortune suffered by Pigdon.

Heat races on the final night were shared between McInnes and the two McIvers. Team PMS managed to get their entry back onto the track for the feature race with Pigdon starting the race from near the rear of field.

Jason McIver shot through at the start to set up an almost invincible lead until with 8 laps to go suffered the indignity of a spin after a minor contact and was subsequently sent rear of field. An NT Title disappeared in front of his eyes ! Tony Moule inherited the lead and was never headed through to the final dash for the chequered flag and deservedly took the win ahead of McInnes and a rampaging Pigdon at the end.

McInnes (#4) and eventual winner Tony Moule (#26) battle for the lead

2012 COT Placegetters - Moule 1st, McInnes 2nd and Pigdon 3rd


If you would like to check out some more action from Scott Kernahan Motorsports Photography, go to




This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.