Saturday night (9th June) saw the Burswood Watersports Centre in Perth WA host the annual Black Tie award night for the AHG (Automotive Holdings Group) Sprintcar Series.

Jamie Maiolo was top of the tables in the AHG Series Owner Pointscore with 2894 points, followed by Kerry Madsen (2nd – 2864), Jason Kendrick (3rd – 2771), Bradley Maiolo (4th – 2622) and rounding out the Top 5 – David Priolo (5th -2579).

Jamie Maiolo deservedly took out First Place in the AHG Series for season 2011/12 - Pic by Peter Roebuck

The iconic AHG Series has been running for 12 years now, and was first conceived when Perth Motorplex (Kwinana) opened its gates for the inaugural season of Sprintcar Racing. David Tapp was the Master of Ceremonies for the night and presentations were made by Chris Penn – the Online Marketing Manager for AHG.

Jamie Maiolo accepts his award from AHG Online Marketing Manager Chris Penn - Pic by Peter Roebuck

With his latest achievement, Jamie Mailolo has won the crown a record 7 times. His Team – LJM Racing – includes his younger Brother Bradley who came 4th overall and is overseen by Sprintcar Guru Geoff Murphy. Jamie was a model of consistency all year, and under the set-up expertise of Geoff Murphy was able to secure the prestigious award.

In what has been a great season for Jason Kendrick, he was able to secure third placing overall behind his team mate Kerry Madsen. Madsen was unable to attend the presentations due to racing commitments with the WoO (World of Outlaws) in America.

Kendrick was able to amass very impressive season  highlights that included the most Quick Times (3) and the most Feature wins (4).

Overall Owners Pointscore - From L to R: Jason Kendrick (3rd), Jamie Maiolo (1st), Bradley Maiolo (4th) - Kerry Madsen came 2nd but was unable to attend due to WoO racing commitments in America - Pic by Peter Roebuck

Trent Pigdon who has blasted onto the WA Sprintcar season came 6th overall in the points tally (2576) and was awarded the “Rookie of the Year”.

In total for the evening an incredible $84,000 was handed out to Drivers. Prizes included a host of front wings and a multitude of Kincrome Tool kits to name a few. The ultimate prize was a new QT Chassis and panel kit and was won by Troy Lawson.

Troy Lawson won a brand new QT Chassis. Here Lawson receives the prize from Daryl Clayden of joint Sponsor Rogue Racing - Pic by Peter Roebuck

Next year the AHG series will see some changes to the point scoring system to make it easier to follow and more importantly create higher levels of interest. Most notably heat results will not count and Drivers will not be able to drop their two poorest performing rounds. At this point 14 rounds are slated for the 2012/13 Series.

Over and above the Principal Series Sponsor AHG (Bronte Howson and Chris Penn), the WA Sprintcar Entrants Group (SEG) would like to thank the following Sponsors for their valued assistance throughout the season:

• Macnaught – Steve Roads
• Kincrome – Frank Rivers
• Amcap – Rod Williams
• Racin Tyres & Accessories/RC2 Filters – Craig Vosbergen
• Fabre – David Athansio
• Watsons Transport – Robert Watson
• Rogue Racing – Daryl Clayden & Lee Nasheason



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.