Last Saturday 14th April, former Australian Champion Gary Brazier was triumphant in the final Sprintcar race of the season at Sydney’s Tyrepower Speedway. Ian Loudoun secured 2nd podium and South Australia’s Trevor Green came home in 3rd place.

Victorious - Sydney's Gary Brazier does the "wheel dance" after claiming the Grand Final A-Main at Tyrepower's Sydney Speedway - Pic by Gary Reid

Garry Brazier and Ian Loudoun enjoy the Victory lane comments by 3rd Placegetter Trevor Green - Pic by Gary Reid

Ian Loudoun’s performance for the night gave him the coveted Sydney Speedway 2012 Track Championship – his 2nd Championship at the acclaimed venue.
Tyrepower Sydney Speedway Sprintcar Track Championship (over 17 rounds)

Final Standings

1. Ian Loudoun 4190
2. Grant Tunks 4038
3. Warren Ferguson 3958
4. Ben Atkinson 3921
5. Roddy Bell-Bowen 3812
6. Darryl Campbell 3812
7. Steve Caunt 3772
8. James Thompson 3741
9. Peter Bourke 3698
10. Toby Bell-Bowen 3678
At the drop of the green, Darryl Campbell was quick to secure the early lead in the 30 lap A-Main. Lapped traffic soon presented difficulties for Campbell – baulking his thrust forward and allowing the opportunistic Garry Brazier in the #21 Rocket Industries Maxim to assume the race lead.

Garry Brazier in the N21 Rocket Industries Maxim - Pic by Gary Reid

Shortly after Brazier took the lead, it was looking like a Rocket Industries “one-two” victory with 3rd quickest Time Trialler Matt Young in the #6 Rocket Industries sister car moving into 2nd place.

Young was feeling the pressure after a poor restart after the luckless Danny Reidy crashed out on lap 21 and was gobbled up by fast trio Ian Loudoun, Trevor Green and B-Main transferee Shane Stewart. Adrian Maher joined the passing club and also got past Young.

Matt Young (N6) gets swamped by Ian Loudoun running the High Line - Pic by Gary Reid

Adrian Maher (N10) also slipped past Matt Young in the Final - Pic by Gary Reid

As they crossed the flagstand it was Brazier nearly 2.5 seconds ahead of Ian Loudoun and a further 2 seconds in arrears Trevor Green. Following Green was Dubbo’s Jeremy Cross,the charging American Shane Stewart in the Monster Energy #7 J&J, Adrian Maher, Matt Young, Warren Ferguson, Steve Caunt and James Thompson rounding out the top 10.

American Shane Stewart in the Monster Energy #7 came from the B-Main to finish 5th behind Dubbo's Jeremy Cross - Pic by Gary Reid

Earlier in the evening local Driver Mitch Dumesny recorded quick time with a 12.778 sec. Mitch’s father veteran Max Dumesny was a no show for the event. Second quickest was Queensland’s up and coming Brent Aprile (12.794) and Matt Young (12.876). Robbie Farr was back a bit in P14 (13.231) which pretty much typified his night – DNF in the A-Main.

Mitch Dumesny (N77) set Quick Time but DNF'd the A-Main with only 4 laps down - Pic by Gary Reid

Queensland's Brent Aprile has done a lot of travelling this season. He time trialled a brilliant 2nd - Pic by Gary Reid

Eventual Track Championship Winner Ian Loudoun timed in relatively low at P19, but this was effectively enough to secure the Track Trophy, and if there was any mathematical doubt, coming 2nd in the A-Main meant that he nailed it. Loudoun’s top wing carried a tribute his parents and sisters as it was announced that it was Loudoun’s final night driving for his family as they retire from the sport as car owners.

That is not to say that Loudoun will not race next season. There are already rumours circulating about Loudoun drving a house car for a high profiled Aussie team. The talent that this current Grand Annual Classic and Sydney Track Champion has  is far too great to lay to rest !

Ian Loudoun was crowned Track Champion after racing the Family-Owned N18 J&J for the very last time. The Top Wing Sideboard carried a family Tribute - Pic by Gary Reid

Warren Ferguson (N32) and Grant Tunks (N54) were fighting it out for 2nd and 3rd in the Track Championship - At the end of the night, Tunks prevailed to take 2nd by 80 points - Pic by Gary Reid

Steve Caunt (#9) leads Scott Withers (N34) - Pic by Gary Reid

Bruce White (N96) came 2nd in his heat but failed to progress beyond lap 21 after a tangle - Pic by Gary Reid

Garry Brazier (N21) goes high on Warren Ferguson (N32) - Pic by Gary Reid

Max Johnston (N38) takes a wild ride in Heat 3 - Pic by Gary Reid

Thanks to Gary Reid ( for all the great action shots from the Final Night of Sprintcar racing for season 2012 at Tyrepower’s Sydney Speedway.

The Sprintcar season at Sydney Speedway  resumes on October 13th.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.