This coming Weekend (March 24th) sees a big schedule of Sprintcar racing in across Australia as the majority of the “Down Under” National Season enters it’s twilight.

  • Perth Motorplex will host the running of the 5oth West Australian Sprintcar Title (32 cars nominated to date)
  • Sydney Speedway has Round 17 of the Tyrepower Track Championship (45 cars nominated to date)
  • Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway runs the final Round of the Eureka Garages & Sheds Series (42 cars nominated to date)
  • And Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway has the KRE Race Engines Sprintcar Series slated in (31 cars nominated to date)

Torque Tube will give you “Fast Facts” on all four events, however our focus will be on the 2012 WA Sprintcar Title and the Finale to the magnificent Eureka Garages & Sheds Series in Victoria.

The 2012 WA Sprintcar Title is going to be a hard fought challenge between both local and “out-of-state” Drivers. The following non-locals have nominated:  America’s Shane Stewart in the #17 Monte Motorsport entry, along with Queenslander Cameron Gessner (Q68), Ian Madsen (W50), Queensland’s Todd Wanless driving for the 92.9/PIHA Team and USA’s young leadfoot – Kaley Gharst (W26).

Shane Stewart has won his last three feature races in Australia and has to be in the mix for the 50th WA Sprintcar Title

Queensland's Todd Wanless has been drafted to drive the 92.9/PIHA car in the WA Title this weekend as regular Team Driver Kerry Madsen has returned to America for WoO


David Priolo (Right) is a big chance but will be pushed hard by Myalup's Jamie Maiolo (centre) and Carl Dowling (left) who has had plenty of seat time on the East Coast this year - Pic: By Brayden Miller

Local West Australian Drivers in with a show to take the 50th Anniversary WA Title include David Priolo whose recent performances at the Motorplex high banks have been scintillating, Ryan Farrell Driving in place of Ken Sartori (Business commitments) in the Steve Duggan #41, former State Champion Mark Wells (W21) and current AHG Points Leader and two times winner of this event Jamie Maiolo.


Ryan Farrell will be driving the Cowara Transport #41 and is never slow

And then you can’t discount the likes of Jason Kendrick (W11) and then there always consistent “quick timer” Shaun Bradford (W57).

That list of possibles says it all – it’s going to be one helluva night.

On the opposite side of the country Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway (Sungold Stadium) has returned a car entry list of 42 cars so far. Boy it wasn’t that many years back when you would get a car count of that order at the National Title !

It’s fair to say that all racing this weekend is going to be big and the final round of the Eureka Series at Warrnabool is no exception and will see the crowning of the Series Champion. Right at this point Darren Mollenoyux in the Parr Motorsports V77 House Car leads narrowly on 4068 points from  Jamie Veal in the Heytesbury Stockfeeds V45 on 3960 (ie: by 108 points).

Jamie Veal is Second in the Eureka Garages & Sheds Series and with a good pefrormance is capable of taking the Championship

Current third place in the SRA Eureka Series is Johnny Vogels (V70) on 3742. Brett Milburn (V68) is on 3427 and is too far back to play any part in the top three for the Series.

Model of consistency: Darren Mollenoyux (V77) leads the Eureka Series despite not taking one feature race out. Johnny Vogels (V77) is third in points going into the final round

Stephen Bell has not nominated for the final round of the Eureka Series this weekend at Warrnambool's Sungold Stadium

Local Warrnambool-Allansford Driver and current joint Victorian Sprintcar Champion (along with Robbie Farr – see prior post) has had a difficult season and is not in the top 10 for the Series. Understandably Bellie has at this point not nominated – we will see what happens as Bellie is always great to watch – many are praying for an unlikely late nomination.

Stephen Lines will debut for the first time at Sungold Stadium in his new ride – The #3 Hall’s Haulage/Bridgestone Tyres tyres entry out of Western Australia. Lines is favoured to be very hard to beat on this track having won the 2011 Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic at the same venue.

The Communicator: Stephen Lines will run for new Team Owner Brian Hall in the Hall's Haulage/Bridgestone Tyres #3 entry at Warrnabool and will be one of many to watch

It’s going to be a BIG weekend in Australian Sprintcar Racing – that is for sure ! ……. and Queensland’s James McFadden looks as though he will rock up to make it even bigger !

James McFadden in the NQ 25 has nominated to contest the final round of the Eureka Series

End Post – Words and Pics by Paul Griffin unless otherwise noted

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.