Words and pics – Paul Griffin

Last night (17th Feb) Cameron Gessner secured a solid and in some aspects unexpected victory in the World Series Sprintcars Preliminary A-Main at Perth Motoplex in Western Australia.

Minor placings went to Stephen Lines (2nd) and Brooke Tatnell (3rd).

Gessner started on the front row in the 25 Lap event along side pole sitter and local young gun David Priolo. Gessner jumped to an early lead with Priolo eventually taking back first position with 14 laps to go.

Cameron Gessner got the jump early and led David Priolo

Jason Kendrick who was travelling well toward the front of the pack lost an engine with 5 laps remaining. Shortly after the restart Priolo lost a rear tyre and his night was frustratingly curtailed. It was incredibly bad luck for Priolo and not the first time that similar events have transpired for him at “The Plex”.Priolo had done so well, lapping the likes of Max Dumesny and Ryan Farrell to to name just a couple of big names.

With Priolo’s exit, Gessner, assumed the lead, was equal to the task and went on to take a very popular win – made all the more popular with his victory lane announcement that he has a house in Fremantle and will now be domiciled in WA. The high banks of Kwinana will be seeing a lot more of this “Gentle Giant”.

Cameron Gessner was a solid Round 15 WSS Prelim A-Main winner at Perth's Motorplex.

Stephen Lines tried hard and was working the top beautifully – so close to the wall that he actually kissed it a couple of times. In the end the Monster Energy – Monte Motorsport Team had to settle for 2nd place.

Race Face - 2nd placed Stephen Lines focuses on the task at hand

Current Australian Sprintcar Champion Brooke Tatnell charged from 10th starting position to be an incredible 5th after 6 laps and did well to pick up the final podium position.

USA Sensation Tyler Walker driving for local car owner Garry Miller suffered a flat right rear with 14 to go and did remarkably well to exit the track without being cleaned up.

WA's Ryan Farrell came from the B-Main and finished 10th - a commendable effort as everyone had good car speed

Ryan Farrel and Max Dumesny were among the transfers from the B-Main, with Farrell starting 16th and pushing forward on the quick racing surface to cross the line 10th.


Max Dumesny had to Qualify through the B-Main and was lapped by Priolo before he (Priolo) lost a tyre while leading - Priolo was "Rockin"









Saturday night (18th Feb) sees the running of the final night of the 2012 WSS Championship. Interest will centre on who will come 2nd and 3rd in the Series as Aussie James McFadden has already secured the Series win with a points tally that can’t be beaten (see previous post).

As James McFadden is not a contracted Driver to the series, he is not eligible to claim the $20,000 Series Points Score Winner Cheque – instead Torque Tube Media have learnt that the $20,000 will  go to the Second top point scorer that will be decided in tonight’s final.

At this point that looks likely to be between America’s Jason Johnson and Australia’s Brooke Tatnell – 100 point separates the pair.  Robbie Farr is a further 48 points in arrears, then comes Dave Murcott – an impossible 93 points further back from Farr in 4th place.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.